Skip to main content
Internet Archive's 25th Anniversary Logo

Full text of "Presbyterianism in Perth Amboy, New Jersey"

See other formats









Copyright 1903 


Harlan G. MenrenHall. 


the Members of 

The Presbyterian Church, 

perth amboy, n. j., 








Authorities consulted in the preparation of 
this book: Wodrow's History of the Suffer- 
ings of the Church of Scotland, Whitehead's 
Contributions to the Early History of Perth 
Amboy, Smith's The Thirteen Colonies (G. P. 
Putnam's Sons, Publishers), Webster's History 
of the Presbyterian Church, Presbyterian His- 
torical Almanac, and the Presbyterian Histor- 
ical Society. 

The photographs of buildings, when not 
otherwise credited, were taken by Edward W. 
Barnes; we are also indebted to W. R. Tobias 
for courtesies of a similar kind. 








CHAPTER VI.— growth 31 

CHAPTER VII.— expansion 35 

CHAPTER VIII.— arise and build 45 



*D * 





7THE disintegration of Cromwell's Commonwealth and the 
restoration of the Stuarts, in the person of Charles II., to 
the throne, not only destroyed religious liberty, but inaugurated 
bitter persecution against the Independents of England and the 
Presbyterians of Scotland. But the blood which reddened the 
soil of Great Britain germinated the seed of a larger hope in dis- 
tant lands. The intolerance of a state church made possible the 
political freedom of a republic; and the men and women who, 
more than two centuries ago, sailed across the Atlantic for con- 
science sake, had heard God's voice as Abram heard it, — Get thee 
out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father's 
house, unto a land that I will show thee; and I will make of thee 
a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; 
and thou shalt be a blessing. 

The state of New Jersey, with other sections of our country, 
profited by these emigrations, and in the middle of the seven- 
teenth century the Puritans had established settlements between 
the Passaic and Raritan rivers; while still farther to the south, 
with Shrewsbury as the chief town, the Friends had colonized. 
Under the wise and beneficent government of the two proprietors, 
Sir George Carteret and Lord Berkeley, who guaranteed religious 
protection, established political equality and offered special land 
inducements, the population rapidly increased. 

In 1679 that part of the state known as East Jersey was, on 
the death of Sir George Carteret, then the sole proprietor, pur- 
chased by an association of twelve men; two years later the num- 
ber was increased by the addition of twelve more members, who 
in their religious views were largely Presbyterian and (Quaker. 


Among these proprietors were James, Earl of Perth; Robert 
Barclay, Robert Gordon, William Penn and Gawen L-awrie. 
These purchasers not only had in view the securing of an asylum 
for the persecuted of their sects, but they also desired to increase 
their income by the development of their investment. To this 
end it was necessary to found a city which should outdistance 
New York and at the same time be the capital of the growing 

The proprietors selected Amboy Point as in every way suit- 
able for this purpose and named it Perth, after the leading mem- 
ber of the association. The first governor of the province was 
Philip Carteret. In 1681 Robert Barclay succeeded him, with 
Thomas Rudyard as his deputy, both Friends. The second 
deputy governor was Gawen Lawrie, a Scotchman. Under his 
euthusiasm and influence the new city on the Raritan was born 
and his inauguration saw it as the metropolis of the New World. 
Indeed, in one of his letters to his associates he wrote: 

" Now is the time to send over people for settling here. 
The Scots and William Dockwra's people, coming now and set- 
tling, advance the Province more than it hath been advanced 
these ten years. Here wants nothing but people.'* 

In the meantime, while these plans were being carried for- 
ward, unlooked-for events in England were shaping the destinies 
of America. Jame^ II became king, and persecutions, increasing 
in their fury, made life and liberty impossible to the Presby- 
terians. New settlers sought these shores, not willingly, but to 
escape torture and death. Among the number was Lord Neill 
Campbell, whose life was threatened and whose brother, the 
Marquis of Argyle, had been beheaded. He brought with him 
more than fifty persons, and on his arrival was appointed deputy 
governor. ' ' Rich men came over to occupy their own estates 
with large families, servants and tenants. Poor men joined the 
stream to take up the new life on any terms they could make. ' ' * 

On September 5, 1685, a body of refugees set sail from Leith, 
Scotland, whose heroism, loyalty to truth and lofty purpose are 

♦Smith's Tin- Thirteen Colonies. 


equaled only by that Puritan expedition which sixty-five years 
earlier consecrated Plymouth Rock to God and freedom. George 
Scot, laird of Pitlochie, had charge of the company of almost two 
hundred souls. Within ten years he had been thrice imprisoned 
and fined for attending services of the proscribed faith. He was 
finally released on condition that he "go to the plantations. ' ' 
Many of his friends sought release from the same intolerable bur- 
dens and in the same way. Others were ordered " to be trans- 
ported to his Majesty's plantations in East New Jersey in the 
ship lying in the road of Leith, now bounding thither. * * * 
At L,eith these were re-examined by counsel; some recanted and 
took an oath to James; others very weakly had friends intercede 
and got off upon a bond. The rest were perpetually banished to 

Before the ship sailed the following protest was signed by 
those who were compelled to leave their native land: 

' ' That now being to leave their own native and covenanted 
land, by an unjust sentence of banishment, for owning truth and 
holding by duty, and studying to keep by their covenanted en- 
gagements and baptismal vows, whereby they stand obliged to 
resist, and testify against all that is contrary to the word of God 
and their covenants; and that their sentence of banishment ran 
chiefly because they refused the oath of allegiance, which in con- 
science the> T could not take, because in so doing, they thought 
the}' utterly declined the Lord Jesus Christ from having any 
power in his own house, and practically would, by taking it, say 
he was not King and head of his church and over their con- 
sciences; and, on the contrary, this was to take and put in his 
room a man whose breath is in his nostrils, yea, a man that is a 
sworn enemy to religion, an avowed papist, whom by our cove- 
nant we are bound to withstand and disown, and that agreeably 
to the Scripture, Deut. 17: 14, 15." 

The vessel was small, three hundred and fifty tons, and the 
voyage was tempestuous throughout. The ship sprung a leak 
and was in danger of sinking; the sails were rent and the small 
boats lost. "After they had turned the land end the fever began 
to rage in the ship. Not a few were sick when they came aboard, 

'Wodrow. The Church of Scotland. 


and no wonder, considering the barbarous treatment they had 
met with; besides much of the flesh which the captain of the ship 
had provided for the prisoners began to stink before they sailed 
out of Leith road, and in a few days it was not eatable. In a 
month's time the fever turned malignant, and a few or none in 
the ship escaped it, insomuch that it was usual to cast overboard 
three or four dead bodies in one day. Most of the ship's crew, 
except the captain and boatswain, died. Pitlochie and his excel- 
lent lady died likewise; and near seventy persons died at sea. 
Notwithstanding of this raging sickness and great death much 
severity was used toward the prisoners at sea by the master of 
the ship and others; those under deck were not allowed to go 
about worship by themselves, and when they assayed it the cap- 
tain would throw down great planks of timber upon them to dis- 
turb them, and sometimes to the danger of their lives."* 

With the death of Scot the captain sought to influence the 
company to sail to Virginia, and while the matter was being dis- 
cussed heavy winds turned the vessel toward the Jersey coast, 
and, passing Sandy Hook, the " Henry and Francis " dropped 
anchor in Raritan bay. It was a bleak December day; snow was 
on the ground; but when this wan and wasted company of pil- 
grims set foot on shore they sang a hymn of praise to God, and 
Rev. David Simson, the ship's chaplain, led them in a prayer of 

The accommodations in the city were not sufficient for so 
many persons, and while a few remained as permanent residents, 
many settled in Woodbridge, New York and New England. 
Among these emigrants were Walter Ker, who was one of the 
founders of the Presbyterian Church at Freehold, and David 
Jamison, who aided in the formation of the First Presbyterian 
Church of New York City. Thus New Jersey became ' ' the 
cradle of Presbyterianism in America." 

David Simson remained as the pastor of the little flock and 
died here. He was the first minister, so far as is now known, 
who held religious services in Perth Ambov. This was two hun- 

'Wodrow. The Church of Scotland. 


dred and seventeen years ago. Another colony was brought over 
in the ship "Caledonia," which landed its passengers in 171 5 
and was soon after wrecked. Some of these emigrants are repre- 
sented in the Crowells and Harriotts of our city. 

Just when a church organization was completed, if at all, is 
not known, but that one was early contemplated is evident from 
the following record, which is found in the minutes of the Synod 
of Philadelphia: 

September 17, 1724. The overture of the committee, with 
reference to a supplication from some of the inhabitants of Perth 
Amboy, desiring sermons sometimes, being referred to the Pres- 
bytery of Philadelphia, was approved by the Synod, and Mr. 
Anderson was appointed to write a letter to them and bring it in 
to-morrow morning. 

September 18. Morning session. A letter to be sent to 
Perth Amboy brought in and approved. 

The "Mr. Anderson" mentioned in this minute was Rev. 
James Anderson, the first settled Presbyterian pastor in New 
York City, where he had gone in 17 17. The next important 
item is found in the records of the Eastern Proprietors, when on 
July 22, 1731, the following petition was presented: 

The humble petition of some of the inhabitants of some of 
the city of Perth Amboy humbly petitioneth — 
To the Hon. Council of Proprietors now sitting in Perth Amboy: 
WHEREAS several of your petitioners have in the old Burial 
place, so called, our parents, wives and children interred, we, 
your petitioners, humbly beg that your honorable house would 
take into consideration and grant us a right of that piece of 
ground, that we may have a right to erect a meeting-house for 
the worship of God, and likewise for a Burial place; and that it 
may be your Honorable Council's order that the said piece of 
ground may be dedicated to the said use and no other, and your 
humble petitioners will forever pray. 

John Matthie, John Gaschrie, 

Wm. Thompson, Thomas, 

Thomas Loggans, James Leigh, 
John Moore, John Herriott, 

John Thompson, Samuel Moores, 

Alexander Carnes. 
Which petition being taken into consideration by this Board, 
they are of opinion that the said piece of land do remain as for- 


merly intended for a public Burial place for the inhabitants of 
this city. But that the petitioners have liberty to erect and build 
a meeting-house on the southeast corner of the same, and this 
Board do hereby lease, as far as in them lies, unto the said Peti- 
tioners, so much of the said piece of land, in the said southeast 
corner, as shall be necessary for that purpose, not exceeding one 
chain square, for the term of one thousand years. 

The ' ' old Burial place ' ' occupied the ground where the High 
School building now stands, and for many years was called the 
"Presbyterian burying ground." The above petition having 
been granted, a building was erected thereon in 1735, the dedi- 
cation sermon being preached by Rev. Gilbert Tennant, pastor at 
New Brunswick. In 1740 the congregation united with Basking 
Ridge and Staten Island, Rev. John Cross being the minister. 
At his suggestion George Whitfield visited the city and held ser- 
vices in the City Hall, which was always crowded, and the suc- 
cess which attended his services elsewhere was seen here. He 
said of Mr. Cross: " He is a dear soul, and one that the Lord de- 
lights to honor. ' ' At this time Governor Morris wrote to the 
Duke of NewCastle: " Perth Amboy is a poor, inconsiderable 
place, and there is little probability of its being much better." 

On August 2, 1742, a petition was presented to the presby- 
tery of New Brunswick for the services of Rev. Charles McNight, 
but this he declined. In 1761 Rev. Elihu Spencer supplied Mid- 
dletown, Shrewsbury and Amboy. In October, 1762, he was 
directed to spend one-fourth of his time at the latter place. Mr. 
Spencer was a man of great weight in the public and ecclesiastical 
affairs of the colonies. Webster says of him in his History of the 
Presbyterian Church in America: "What must Spencer have 
been! Loved by Brainerd and Edwards in his youth; the suc- 
cessor of Dickinson and Rogers in his pastoral work; selected by 
the governors of two colonies as chaplain to the forces on im- 
portant expeditions; intrusted by the synod with momentous re- 
sponsibilities among the new settlers in Carolina; and performing 
these duties so well that, at the lapse of ten years, the Provincial 
Congress called him from his distant home to allay the conscien- 
tious scruples deterring the Scots from throwing off their alle- 
giance to Britain." 


In 1764 the church building became so dilapidated as to be- 
come dangerous, and a petition was presented to the assembly 
asking permission to hold a lottery for the purpose of raising 
money to repair it. The recpiest was refused. During the war 
of the Revolution it was used as a stable by British cavalrymen, 
and about 1785 it disappeared. 

It may not be out of place to state that in 1771 the Presby- 
terians of the province of New Jersey, through their clergymen, 
presented a petition to the council for the incorporation of a so- 
ciety "for the better support and education of the widows and 
children of deceased Presbyterian ministers. ' ' Governor Frank- 
lin, in writing to England concerning it, objected to it on the 
ground that the Presbyterians should not be granted "any other 
privileges than they are entitled to by the laws of toleration;" 
and that "a similar fund had been used in Pennsylvania in order 
to propagate and support the Presbyterian religion among the 
new settlers in different parts of the continent of North America. ' ' 
The council finally granted the request on condition that instead 
of clergy the words minister or teacher should be said. "The 
King," writes the attorney general, "can not know nor with 
propriety call an}- men clergymen but those of the established 
Church of England, at least in England, Ireland and these col- 
onies. In acts of Parliament the ministers of dissenting congre- 
gations are stiled ministers and teachers, never clergymen. I 
dare say they have not the same stile with the clergy of the es- 
tablished church." 

During the Revolutionary struggle the life of our church 
was severely tried, and at its close and for many years thereafter 
services were held occasionally either in private houses or the 
court house, which was located where the present City Hall 



7THE opening of the next century found the Presbyterians de- 
sirous of uniting in a permanent organization. Many new 
settlers who had taken up their residence in the city were without 
a church home of their own faith. Although the population only 
numbered seven hundred souls and the ambition of the founders 
had become a memory, this did not discourage those who believed 
in the perseverance of the saints from rebuilding the walls of their 
beloved Jerusalem. Captain John Angus was the energetic citi- 
zen who breathed life into this movement. He called a meeting 
of those who had faith in the project, which was held on the first 
of October, 1801, and this was the result: 

At a Meeting of the Subscribers for Building a Presbyterian 
Church in the City of Perth Am boy, the Sum Subscribed Amount- 
ing to more then Limetted on the Subscription paper, Agreeable 
to public Advertising, The following Gentlemen were Unanimously 
Chosen, as Managers for Receiving Subscriptions and Carrying 
on the Building. John Angus, 

David Wait. 
JAmes Harriott. 
By Order of the Meeting. David Wait, Clk. 

Captain Angus appeared before the Presbytery of New York, 
then in session at Woodbridge, Oct. 8, stated the case and the 
following action was taken: 

Captain John Angus, from the City of Perth Am boy, applied 
to the Presbytery of New York in behalf of an association of 
Gentlemen of that City who have it in view to build a place of 
worship and to form a Presbyterian Congregation for Such aid as 
the Presbytery can afford them in accomplishing their object. 

Whereupon the Presbytery taking into Consideration the 
once promising State of the City of Perth Amboy that there was 


formerly a Presbyterian Congregation and place of worship in it, 
and its present destitute Situation with Respect to the institutions 
and ordinances of Religion, desiring of testifying their approba- 
tion of the commendable zeal and activity of Captain Angus and 
the other Gentlemen engaged in this business, and hoping that 
their endeavors may be Crowned with Success, agreed to express 
their approbation of the Measure and to Recommend it to the 
Attention of all Christian and charitably disposed people, as likely 
to have an happy influence upon the Interests of said City and 
neighborhood both in Religious and civil point of view. 

Signed by order in Presbytery at Woodbridge, Oct. 8, 1801. 

Henry Cook, Moderator. 

Among the subscribers to this fund were Stephen Girard, 
John Quincy Adams, Elias Boudinot, Lewis Claflin, Abraham 
Varick, Alexander Stewart, General Ebenezer Stevens and Peter 
Schermerhorn. Of this fund Philadelphia contributed $1,342, 
New York City $1,058, Elizabethtown $188, and Newport and 
Providence, R. I., $52. General Stevens gave the pulpit Bible 
still in our possession, on which are printed the following words: 



of new york, to the 

Presbvterian'Church at Pkrth Amiiov 

SEPT. 21, 1802. 

Captain Angus donated the lot which is in part the site of 
the present edifice, and in May, 1802, the foundation of the build- 
ing, which was used until last year, was laid. The church, sixty 
feet by thirty-six, was most commodious at that time and had the 
largest auditorium in the city. Finished in a neat and handsome 
style, it was opened for public worship on Thursday, June 9, 
1803, the dedication sermon being preached by Rev. Samuel 
Stanhope Smith, D. D. , president of Princeton College, from the 
text, 2 Timothy II: 8.: Remember that Jesus Christ of the 
seed of David was raised from the dead. 

Captain John Angus, who did so much to promote this 
present organization, was a Scotchman by birth and derived his 
militarv title from service in the war of the Revolution. He was 


, I 
1 I 



Photographed from Whitehead's History of Perth Amboy. By Tobias. 


a tall, broad-shouldered man, living in a house which is now No. 
24 Smith street. Newspapers were rare a century ago, and very 
few were found in the city. It is said of the good captain, who 
was a subscriber, that as soon as his paper was received he ap- 
peared with it on the street and, gathering a group of eager lis- 
teners, read the news of the day. He died January 10, 18 17, and 
lies buried in our cemetery. 

David Wait, who, with Captain Angus and John Lewis, con- 
stituted the first session and the first board of trustees, 
was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1754. He ran away 
from his native land to escape service in the army, 
but the troublous times in America aroused his sympathy 
and he enlisted in the Continental army. He was captured by 
the British forces and incarcerated in the Barracks. When peace 
was declared he became a resident in the city and his descendants 
are now on the rolls of our church. He died 18 10. John Lewis 
was a carpenter. He died 18 15. General James Harriott took 
an active interest in the organization and did much to bring it 
about. He united on profession of his faith March 29, 1804. 
He was an early trustee and in 18 14 became an elder. Being a 
builder, he erected the church and also the manse. He early 
displayed a fondness for military tactics, and was called captain 
in 1800. He was a general in the war of 18 12. He identified 
himself with the city's interests and was postmaster in 1830. The 
postoffice was in his residence, which is the building at 130 
Rector street. Here he died November 13, 1848. 

In January, 1802, a congregational meeting was held for the 
election of a pastor, and Rev. Elias Riggs, a licentiate of the 
presbytery of New York, was chosen. Mr. Riggs was born at 
Mendham, N. J., April 1, 1770, and graduated at Princeton Col- 
lege in 1795, where he remained as tutor for one year. He 
studied theology privately, was married in 1801 to Mrs. Margaret 
Condar, widow of Daniel Hudson, of Newark, and removed to 
Perth Amboy in 1803, where he began his labors on Sunday, 
March 7. The next day he opened an academy, for he was to be 
a teacher as well as preacher, and in this building Sabbath ser- 
vices were held until the church was completed. He was or- 


dained August 2, and acted as pastor until October, 1806, when 
he became pastor at New Providence (West Summit), N. J. He 
was installed June 10 of the year following, and remained in this 
charge until his death, which occurred February 25, 1825, under 
the following circumstances: "He attended with his son Elias, 
then a lad fifteen years old, a funeral in a distant part of his par- 
ish. A heavy snow had fallen, and, on their way home, the 
horse taking fright, the sleigh was upset and its occupants thrown 
into a snow bank. A heavy cold was contracted, which devel- 
oped pneumonia, and in eight days he died. This was on the 
day and at the hour appointed for a lecture preparatory to the 
celebration of the Lord's Supper. The following Sabbath in- 
stead of the communion the members attended his funeral. "He 
was a man of scholarly tastes, a godly man and faithful pastor, 
and commanded by his exemplary life and conversation the affec- 
tions of his people and respect of the community." Of his six 
children two became eminent clergymen, Rev. Joseph L,., a pastor 
in Elmira, N. Y., and Rev. Elias, D.D., IX. D., for thirty-two 
years a missionary in Persia; and two of his daughters became 
the wives of clergymen, Rev. J. G. Montfort, D.D., of Cincin- 
nati, and Rev. Joseph L,. Potter, D.D., missionary in Persia; and 
this blessing has been given to his grandchildren. 

In his work of three and a half years Mr. Riggs laid the 
foundations strong and deep, and not only saw completed and 
dedicated the building in which his people worshiped with com- 
paratively few changes for a century, but also received into mem,- 
bership twenty-seven persons. There were only two church or- 
ganizations in the city at that time, and a feeling of fraternity 
existed between them, as is evident from this action of the ses- 
sion, which is dated Oct. 25, 1804: 

' ' In consecpience of the Episcopalians having appointed 
Thursday, the first of Nov. to be observed by them, as a day of 
public thanksgiving, Agreed, that we recommend to the members 
of our congregation, to abstain on that day from such work as 
might tend to disturb their devotion." 

The salary of the minister was not large, the only subscrip- 
tion list found showing one hundred and seventy-four dollars as 
the full amount for one year, and at the end of the year sixty- 


four dollars had not been paid. Whatever other income Mr. Riggs 
received came from the fees of students in the academy, but even 
this account shows an indebtedness for the first year of twenty- 
six dollars. 



ZTHE church was vacant for one year when the Rev. John Keys 
accepted an invitation to act as supply. Mr. Keys was 
born at Wilton, New Hampshire, August 28, 1778. His father, 
a soldier in the Continental army, was in the battle of Fort Ti- 
conderoga. The son entered Dartmouth College and graduated 
in 1803; taught school in New York City one year, and then re- 
moved to Morristown, N. J., where he studied theology under 
Rev. James Richards, D.D. The presbytery of New York, in 
session at Orangedale, N. J., October 3, 1805, licensed him to 
preach; and the same presbytery ordained him in Perth Amboy 
August 4, 1807. He remained here, however, only one year. 
In 1808 he was pastor at Sand Lake, near Albany, N. Y., where 
he remained four years. He resided in Albany for two years, 
and in 18 14 was pastor of the Congregational church of Wolcott, 
Connecticut. His next pastorate was in the Congregational 
church at Tallmadge, Ohio, beginning in 1S23 and closing in 
in 1832. He then supplied churches for brief seasons in Ohio, 
Illinois, Missouri and Iowa. He died at Dover, Ohio, January 
21, 1867. The year before coming to Perth Amboy he was mar- 
ried to Miss May Carmichael, of Morristown. Mr. Keys "was 
an industrious, hard-working man, though to labor in the cause 
of Christ was delightful to his soul. He was a prayer loving 
Christian, making many matters subjects of special prayer that 
are often merely referred to in general terms; owing to the weight 
of years reducing the tone of his sytem, he was at times despond- 
ent, but his last end was peace, his last words being, — 'O, 
wretched man that I am! Who shall deliver me from the body 
of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord.' "* 

♦Presbyterian Historical Almanac. 



The year of Mr. Keys' residence in this city was a dis- 
couraging time. The session regarded it with sorrow, as we 
conclude from the following record made in January, 1808: 

' ' There being no business before us, some time was passed 
in free conversation concerning the low state of religion among 
us. The remainder of the evening was then spent in humbly im- 
ploring the Iyord of life to regard us in mercy, and if it could be 
consistent with his sovereign will, to send us also His Holy Spirit 
as he has done to neighboring churches." 

In 1808 Rev. Daniel Hopkins supplied the pulpit. In this 
year Mrs. Doziah Blood good, wife of William Blood good, became 
a member of the church. She was born in 1779 and died the old- 
est member at the time of her death, and the oldest inhab- 
itant of the city. From 1829 to 1847 she was a member of the 
Woodbridge church, but in the latter year her membership was 
renewed with this organization, making her term of service fifty- 
three years. In December, 1879, she celebrated her one hun- 
dredth birthday and at this anniversary there were present her 
seven living children aged respectively eighty years, seventy- 
seven, seventy-four, seventy-two, sixty-nine, sixty-six and fifty- 
nine ; grandchildren, great- 
grandchildren and two great- 
great-grandchildren. At this 
celebration she sang in a clear 
and distinct voice, "My Days 
are Gliding Swiftly By. ' ' She 
died February, 1880. 

The first pastor of the church 
was Rev. Peter Stryker, who 
was installed November 20, 
1809, Rev. Mr. Pictou 
preaching the sermon from 
I. Corinthians, II: 2 : For I 
determined not to know any- 
thing among you save Jesus 
Christ and him crucified. 
Rev. A. Roe, D. D., pre- 



sided and gave the charge to the pastor, and Rev. Mr. Carll 
the charge to the people. New life and new hopes had come 
back to the church when suddenly the next year Mr. Stryker 
was recalled to his former congregations at Belleville and Stone 
House Plains, the reason given being ' ' the peculiar circum- 
stances of his present situation." In going, which he did in 
December, he expressed regret " at leaving a people whose 
affectionate regards and marked attention have laid me under 
great obligations ever to esteem and love them. 

This brief pastorate cannot be allowed to pass without a more 
detailed reference to the man who in his short life in this city 
left a blessing which continued for many years. He was born in 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, December 23, 1763, of ancestors 
who came from Holland in 1652, and who held honorable posi- 
tions in the community and were devoted members of the Dutch 
Church. He early became a believer in the Christian religion. 
Young Peter was a fifer in the army of the Revolution. He was 
a student at Columbia University; licensed May 8, 1788, and be- 
came pastor of a church on Staten Island. Here he remained 
until 1794, when he was called to the Reformed Dutch Church of 
Belleville; from this church he was called to Perth Amboy, but 
returning to Belleville in 18 10 he remained until 18 12, ill health 
compelling him to resign. He died March 16, 1847. He was a 
refined, dignified gentleman of the old school, and a strong man 
in his denomination. Although retired from the active pastorate, 
he was not idle, but sought avenues for advancing the Redeemer's 
kingdom. In 18 15 he mad^ a missionary tour of eleven months 
in all kinds of weather to Easton, up the Susquehanna valley, 
across to Troy and down the Hudson. His sou Harmons, grand- 
son Peter and his great-grandson-in-law. Rev. W. W. Conner, 
have all preached in the Bellvelle church, Mr. Conner being the 
present pastor. The grandson, Rev. Peter Stryker, D. D., was 
for many years a much beloved minister in the Presbyterian de- 
nomination. He was, however, pastor of the Reformed Dutch 
church at Asbury Park when he died in 1900. 

We can see this pastor of the long ago as with stately mien 
he entered the door and walked to the winding stairs which led 


to the pulpit. These he ascended and seated himself in the an- 
tique chair. It was a curious place, that pulpit, stuck high up 
like a tiny box at the east end of the church. Above it was a 
sounding board, and on top of this was perched a "gilt dove." 
An hour glass measured the length of the sermon. The pews 
were box in shape, with backs so high that the children had 
great difficulty in seeing the preacher. Doors shut in the occu- 
pants during service. In the winter bricks and soap-stones were 
heated and placed in the pews in lieu of the modern stove. 
The geese, a common product of the city, had no regard for the 
Sabbath, but browsed around for pickings as on other days. 
Often their cackling, as the noise came through the open doors 
and windows, so disturbed the congregation that the sex- 
ton would rush out and drive them away. Dogs re- 
garded the day with more solemnity, and, seeking their mas- 
ters through the same open doors, were welcomed to their pews. 
The communicants were seated at tables extending the length of 
the aisles, and tokens were deposited by those who participated 
before the elements were passed. 

The minister having no permanent home, the church in 1808 
decided to build a manse. A subscription was made that year, 
and although the house was occupied the year following the costs 
continued until 18 1 7. The original cost was $1884, exclusive of 
the lot which was another donation from Captain Angus. That 
parsonage had a long drawn out expense account, as is seen in 
looking over the bills which the trustees paid. Perhaps some of 
the material which aided in the construction, had much to do 
with the interminable cost, for the word "spirit" occurs very 
often among the charges. Following in quick succession in one 
account are the items "1 quart spirits, 6 lb white lade, 1 lb putty, 
1 lbneils." Workmen were paid one dollar a day. Hard brick 
were worth fifty shillings a thousand and soft brick twenty-five 
shillings. It cost "towe shilings pur pose for seder posts," five 
dollars for "diging seller," one dollar and twenty-five 
cents for " blowiu stone," and twelve shillings for 
" plasterin hare." 

In 1 8 10 a "celler drean under said house" was dug ; the 



next year "one sistern ;" and the year following an "ovan." 
Then the ' 'seller of the parsonage house' ' had to be filled up with 
sand and the "kitchen harth" laid. Six years after its supposed 
completion it needed a new coat of paint; a fence was built, and 
in their anxiety for the minister's welfare the trustees had ne- 
glected the church. This called for attention and money was ex- 
pended for "conducting the bell rope through sealing of gallery," 

THE PARSONAGE, 1809-1869. 

repairing the "steple," painting the building at a cost of two 
hundred dollars and putting posts into the "burying ground." 
This house is now 101 Rector street. 

Rev. Joshua Young of the Congregational council of Maine 
supplied the church for six months in the fall and winter of 1S14. 



The next year Rev. Elias Riggs was re-called on a salary of $300 
and the use of the parsonage, but this call he declined. In 18 16 
Rev. Joseph Bishop Andrews became stated supply. He occupied 
this relation until June 16, 18 19, when he was installed as pastor. 
At this service Rev. Samuel H. Cox of Mendham preached the 
sermon from Romans I: 16, — For I am not ashamed of the gos- 
pel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every- 
one that believeth ; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek. 

Dr. Andrews was born at Southington, Connecticut, March 
r 7> x 775 : graduated at Yale College, 1797 ; married August 17, 
1801, Miss May Bissell of Windsor, who died December 24, 1848. 
He became a licentiate June 5, 1799, and was ordained pastor in 
Killingworth, April 12, 1802. In 181 1 he removed to New York 

City, where he established a 
private school, and organized 
a Sabbath scbool in the vicin- 
ity of Franklin street and 
Broadway. He also studied 
medicine, graduating at the 
College of Physicians and 
Surgeons, March n, 1816. 
This was the year he entered 
upon work in this church. 
His pastorate terminated De- 
cember 19, 1822. He re- 
mained here for some time, 
practising medicine, acting as 
health officer of the port, and 
in 1S29 was president of the 
Middlesex County Medical 
Society. He then removed 
to his old home in Connecti- 
cut where he resided for many years, representing his town in 
1836 in the legislature. His home after that was in New York 
City; he died April 26, 1853, aQ d is buried in Alpine Cemetery. 
Dr. Andrews was a linguist and scholar and a man of intense 
energy and perseverance. He believed in total abstinence at a 



time when it was unpopular to advocate such a cause ; he spared 
not in his denunciations against intemperance ; and members 
were disciplined for their overindulgence in intoxicating liquors. 
His granddaughter, Mrs.Sarah A.Whitman, resides in New York 
City. Her father, Dr. Solomon Andrews, was a physician in this 
city for many years. 

The population of Perth Amboy in 1820 was about eight hun- 
dred, and of this number thirty persons were slaves. From very 
early days it was desirable that the "province have a constant 
and sufficient supply of merchantable negroes, at moderate rates, 
in money or commodities. ' ' * Many advertisements were inserted 
in the papers offering rewards for runaway slaves. Two negroes 
were burned at the stake in our city for murder, and fears of an 
uprising were frequent. But from the time above mentioned by 
an act of the legislature slavery gradually passed away. The 
stocks opposite the church in the Square, where drunkards, wife- 
beaters and other offenders were punished, were in use. In the 
centre of the Square the old market stood, where on Tuesdays 
and Saturdays the farmer with his produce and his fowls and the 
butcher with his meats welcomed their customers. This building 
was divided into two sections running east and west, each fifty 
feet long and twenty wide, seperated by the walks which now 
divide Market Square ; and on other days the children as they 
came out of the old Court House turned it into a gymnasium. 
Where the Packer House stands was Arnold's City Hotel, a pub- 
lic house which was erected before the Revolution, and at that 
period was the chief hostelry of the city. Washington stopped 
here on his visit to Amboy in 1776, as did Adams, Franklin and 
Rutledge when they were on their way to meet L,ord Howe at 
the Billop House Conference. The walls of this old building are 
doing service now as in the years gone by. 

Many of our streets had not the same names that designate 
them in our day, as for example, Gordon was Gully street; Rec- 
tor, Cross street; Fayette, South Dock street; Commerce, North 
Dock street; and State, Backstreet. The Barracks were used by 

* Smith's New Jersey. 


Dr. Solomon Andrews as a manufactory for government locks. 
The Westminster Home was the residence of Matthias Bruen, 
reputed to be at that time the wealthiest citizen of the United 
States. He had long been a member of this congregation and 
early identified himself with its interests. His home had within 
its walls many costly paintings and rare pieces of statuary. John 
Jacob Astor was a frequent guest and on one occasion visited and 
addressed the Sabbath School. The modes of traveling were 
primitive compared with our day. A small steamboat conveyed 
passengers to New York. The schedule time was four hours, 
leaving here at nine o'clock and arriving at one in the afternoon. 
The stasre coach was used instead of the railroad and trollev car. 



|T were better no doubt if this chapter could be omitted, but a 
true history of this church can not be given without at least 
a cursory glance at the unfortunate state of affairs which existed 
for almost eight years, causing alienation, the interference of 
presbytery, the action of the General Assembly and the with- 
drawal of members to other denominations. Just how these dif- 
ferences began it is difficult at this period of time to determine, 
but the presumption is in favor of a statement made by one of 
the witnesses in court, viz. : The remarks made by the minister 
who was then pastor against the prevailing sin of intemperance 
in the congregation. Some of the members had been guilty of 
intoxication and the reproof was of too personal a character. 
Misunderstanding grew until the session and trustees were in 
conflict. The latter sought to direct the congregation and 
usurped the duties of the elders. Finally two boards of trustees 
were acting and the case was appealed to presbytery. 

Ministers were sent by this body to supply the church but 
in 1824 the conflict was so bitter that their supplies were not al- 
lowed to preach in the building. Each board of trustees had 
locked the doors, and neither would remove their lock lest the 
opposition might take an undue advantage. Then the case was 
taken to the Supreme Court of New Jersey. Among the lawyers 
engaged on the case was the Hon. Theodore Frelinghuysen. For 
one year this state of affairs existed. Sendees were held at the 
academy and in private houses ; and each side fought with an 
energy worthy a better cause. Beside the members of presbytery 
who were sent on special Sundays, other ministers were engaged 
for short periods. 


Among the ministers were Rev. Michael Osborne for six 
months, 1823-4, who was then called to the pastorate of the 
Metuchen chnrch ; Mr. Jeptha Harrison, a licentiate of the pres- 
bytery of Newark; Mr. Henry G. Ludlow, a student at Princeton 
Seminary ; Rev. Abner C. Morse, for six months in 1826, and 
Rev. Nathaniel A. Wilson, 1828-31. Mr. Wilson's influence was 
most marked and in his residence of two years and a half he did 
much to bring order out of chaos. He was born at Elizabeth 
and united with the First Church at fourteen years of age; grad- 
uated at Princeton college, 1823, and Princeton Seminar}', 1826. 
He was licensed October 5 and ordained in this church April 29, 
1828. Rev. William Gray preached the sermon from Proverbs 
n: 30, — The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life, and he that 
winneth souls is wise. Rev. David Magie, D. D., presided and 
gave the charge to the minister. Mr. Wilson's health failing, he 
removed to Philadelphia in 1831, where he became pastor of the 
Fairmount Church, but he died that year. He was followed by 
Rev. Peter H. Shaw, who came from the presbytery of New 
York. Rev. David R. Gillmer of the Congregational church sup- 
plied in 1834. 

The members of the church felt very deeply their position 
before God and in this city, and the session met once a month 
"for the purpose of imploring the Great Head of the Church and 
the influences of His grace to heal the division, to quicken and 
enliven both ourselves and the members." The state of piety 
was very low. Many members absented themselves from the 
services. A committee of session waited on the absentees and 
tried to reconcile the differences. Revs. John McDowell, D. I)., 
and David Magie, D. D. , of Elizabeth were sent by presbytery to 
seek ways by which harmony might be restored. A special day 
of prayer both in private and this church was appointed, but it 
was not until the summer of 1830 that peace came. A compro- 
mise was reached between the parties in which both agreed to 
cease their contentions, unite in the election of a new board of 
trustees and the support of the church. The law suit was with- 
drawn, both parties uniting in paying the costs, and the 
election of trustees took place harmoniously and unanimously. 


For twelve years ministers came and went and for four years the 
church sought to restore its energies after the discussion which 
almost destroyed it. It is a surprise it did not die altogether, 
but the prayers of the few who took no part in the controversy 
brought the healing and harmouv. 




SHE sky was now brightening and better days had come. The 
man for the occasion was the Rev. Benjamin Cory. A 
congregational meeting was held on March 30, 1835, and a call 
made for Mr. Cory's services. It was signed by James Harriott, 
Charles Ford and Samuel R. Ford, elders, and John Young, 
Benjamin Maurice, David Crowell, George Hampton, William J. 
Ford and Edwin Ford, trustees ; Rev. Shepard K. Kollock mod- 
erating the meeting. The salary promised was three hundred 
dollars per anum "and as much more as can be raised by the 
congregation together with the use of the parsonage." Benjamin 
Cory was born near Westfield, New Jersey, February 24, 1807. 

In early youth he accepted a 
position in a store in Eliza- 
beth and during a revival in 
the First Presbyterian Church 
was converted and soon 
after entered Princeton 
College, from which he 
graduated in 1832. He was 
licensed 1834 and ordained 
and installed pastor of this 
church, May 6, 1835. Rev. 
H. \V. Hunt of Metucheu 
preached the sermon, Rev. 
Lewis Bond of Plainfield pre- 
sided and gave the charge to 
the pastor and Rev. Thomas 
REV. benjamin CORY. L- Janeway of Rahway, the 


charge to the people. Mr. Cory had a twin brother named 
Joseph and these young men graduated from college 
in the same class, studied theology together, were li- 
censed at the same time and ordained at the same session of pres- 

Quietly and patiently was the work carried on, and each 
year showed an increase in membership and income. The roll 
had on it in 1835 only twenty-six active members, but when this 
ministry closed there were one hundred additional members. 
Two blessed revivals aided in this result, the first in 1837 when 
twenty-one persons united and the other in 1855 when forty- 
seven members were received. This ingathering was brought 
about largely through the earnest prayers of the session which 
had for its members Samuel G. Woodbridge, Daniel Selover, 
Cornelius Selover and C. C. Pierson. Without even the knowl- 
edge of the pastor meetings were held at the close of Sunday 
services to pray for a revival. Soon there was heard "the sound 
of a going in the tops of the mulberry trees" and Mr. Cory was 
urged to call a public meeting in the lecture room for prayer. 
The little room was thronged ; then other meetings followed with 
different pastors to help in the preaching and the result was seen 
in many conversions. 

The salary was increased in 1840 to $400 and in 1855 to 
$600. The most marked change was in the addition of the Sun- 
day School or session room which was built in 1850 on the lot 
north of the church. This was used until ten years ago when it 
was sold to the Swedish Congregational church as a place of 
worship. It is located on Gordon street near State. The com- 
munion table's were discarded and elements distributed as is now 
the custom. 

In the interior of the building the "gilt dove" came down 
with its perch, and a pulpit of modern style was built with a sofa 
instead of chairs for the minister's comfort. Stoves took the 
place of the heated bricks. One was bought and another bor- 
rowed. So much comfort was derived from the experiment that 
in 1838 two large wood stoves were purchased and placed in the 
northwest and southeast corners. One pipe ran the entire length 




of the building, and one Sabbath morning during the delivery of 
the sermon the wire holding it in place broke, and down came 
pipe, soot and sparks of fire upon the heads of the worshipers. 
Consternation soon gave place to laughter at the ridiculous ap- 
pearance of those who received the full benefit of the baptism. 
The sermon was not resumed. 

The box pews were displaced with new ones of more modern 
design. The choir occupied the gallery over the entrance 
and there soon came an evolution in the musical instruments 
used, with the tuning fork no longer holding first place. It dis- 
appeared before a bass viol played by Dr. L. D. Morse and the 
flute by Edward Crowell. The next change was to a melodeon so 
small that James Crowell, its possessor, carried it to and from his 
home every Sunday. The congregation finally was rich enough 
to purchase its own reed organ, with James Crowell as organist. 
But its introduction brought about unlooked-for complications, 
for no interludes or preludes could be played without offending 
some of the officers. The choir in 1859 was composed of Dr. 
Morse, Edward Crowell, Robert Freeman, David F. Wait, 
Thompson Wait and Misses Anna See, Jennie Dunham, S. M. 
Freeman, Sarah Crowell, Amelia Crowell and Rachel Hull. 

It was a very serious offence in those far away years for 
members of the church to engage in the "ungodly sin of danc- 
ing," and offenders were waited upon by the elders and "urged 
to refrain." The principal amusement of the winter was the 
donation party at the parsonage when young and old gathered 
with edible gifts which they helped to sample, but left enough 
for the minister and his family for a few days thereafter. Money 
was also contributed. The Sunday School gave "exhibitions" 
in the City Hall. Until the lecture room was built the prayer 
meetings were held in private houses. Sunday service was held 
morning and afternoon, but on the first Sunday evening of each 
month a missionary concert was given. A Bible class was taught 
during the week by Mr. Cory. 

On Sabbath, June 17, i860, Mr. Cory resigned, but the con- 
gregation did not act upon it, and then only with reluctance, un- 
til September 24. His next pastorate was the First Church of 


Plainfield, where he remained five years and then removed to 
Elizabeth, where he resided until he died, March 18, 1888, in the 
eighty-second year of his age. For fifty-three years he was a 
member of this presbytery. Despite his advancing age and conse- 
quent weakness, he gave earnest and useful public service to the 
last of life. He was married November 18, 1835, to Miss Man- 
Crane, who died November, 1901. Two children survive — Mrs. 
Dr. F. W. Seward, of Goshen, New York, and Mrs. I. C. Kiggins, 
of Elizabeth. 





ZTHE Church had grown in strength and usefulness and was 
not long vacant. A congregational meeting was held Octo- 
ber 1 1, i860, for the election of a pastor, and Rev. Charles Clark 
Wallace of Tremont, New York, was unanimously chosen. He 
was received by Presbytery October 29, and installed on the even- 
ing of that day. Rev. Benjamin Cory presided. Rev. V. 
EeRoy Lock wood of Railway preached the sermon from the text, 
Isaiah 60: i, — Arise, shine; for thy light is come, and the glory 
of the Lord is risen upon thee. Rev. Edward B. Edgar of 
Westfield charged the pastor and Rev. Gardiner S. Plumley of 
Metuchen the people. 

Mr. Wallace was born in 
New York City, June 3, 1832. He 
prepared for college at Cornelius 
Institute, entered New York 
University in 1849, taking the 
full course, and graduated at 
Union Seminary, 1856. In June 
of that year he was ordained 
and installed by the presbytery 
of New York as pastor at Tre- 
mont where he had done mis- 
sionary work during his semin- 
ary course. There he remained 
until coming to Perth Amboy. 

The first act of this new pas- 
torate was to arouse enthusiasm 



in missions. ' ' The first Monday evening of each month was set 
apart as a season for engaging in the concert of prayer for mis- 
sions," the time that is now used for that purpose. Regular 
Sabbaths were designated for taking collections for benevolent 
objects, and the offering on communion Sabbath was appropriated 
for the poor and the expenses of the session. Inspired by Mr. 
Wallace's fraternal feeling union services were held with the Bap- 
tist and Methodist Churches in observing the week of prayer, 
which is now "the custom. A precious revival stirred the 
Church in 1862, twenty-two persons uniting at one time. A 
Church manual was published in this year, giving a history of 
the Church with the list of members of the congregation. The 
evening Sabbath service was begun and the afternoon service 

In December, 1863, Mr. Wallace announced his resignation, 
that he might accept a call to Placerville, California. This was 
accepted on the twenty-first of the same month, presbytery ac- 
quiesced on the twenty-ninth and on Sunday, January 3, 1863, Mr. 
Wallace preached his last sermon and declared the pulpit vacant. 

Dr. Wallace, (he received his degree from Rutgers College,) 
remained in California until 1868. After a short pastorate at 
Watertown, N. Y., he was called to Mahopac Falls in 1S71. Here 
he remained for ten years. He then received a call to the his- 
toric Old South Church of Newburyport, Massachusetts, which 
was his last pastorate and which he resigned in 1888 on account 
of failing health. One year was passed in Florida and, returning 
to New England, he died December 22, 1889. He is buried at 
Westfield, New Jersey. He married Miss Mary Sutherland 
Bayley of Newbury, Vermont, November 15, i860, who, with one 
daughter, survives him, living at Newbury. This pastorate was 
during the trying years of the Civil War, but the Church was 
carried successfully through the crisis. Dr. Wallace was a most 
efficient worker, a sensible, earnest preacher, faithful pastor and 
in all his relations a Christian gentleman. He was a frequent 
contributor to religious magazines and journals. In 1887 he was 
elected moderator of the Synod of New York. 

For six months many candidates had appeared and meetings 



of the congregation had been held, but no unanimous action could 
had. Rev. James A. Little of the Third New York Presbytery 
was invited to supply the Church for nine months, which he did, 
but his labors were so successful that only half the time had 
elapsed when he was elected pastor. The meeting held for this 
purpose was on March 23, 1865. On April 27 he was installed. 
Rev. G. S. Plumley of Metuchen presided and preached the ser- 
mon from Ezra 7: 10, — For Ezra had prepared his heart to seek 
the law of the Lord, and to do it, and to teach in Israel statutes 
and judgments. Rev. G. C. Lucas of Woodbridge gave the 
charge to the pastor and Rev. E. H. Reinhart the charge to the 

James Andrew Little was born in New York City, July 20, 
1837; graduated from the College of the City of New York, 1854 
and Union Theological Seminary, 1859, having been a resident 
graduate of the college one year and a teacher in Wooster street 
public school one year. For two years he supplied pulpits in 
New York City and vicinity and in July, 1861, he became stated 
supply of the Church at 
Canastota, New York, having 
been ordained by his own pres- 
bytery. Thence he came to 
Perth Amboy. His pastorate 
ended the last Sabbath in May, 
1868, and on March 27, 1869, 
he entered upon his long and 
successful pastorate at Hoken- 
dauqua, Pennsylvania, where 
his bow still abides in strength. 
No communion service has 
passed without additions to 
the roll of the Church. He 
has a united congregation, 
happy family and is beloved 
by the people of the Lehigh 
Valley. He received the 
degree of doctor of divinity 



from Lafayette College in 1887. He married November 12, 1868, 
Miss Sarah J. Cooper of New York City. There have been 
born to them two sons, James E. of Harrisburg, Pa. , and John 
L. of Allentown, Pa., and three daughters. 

During Dr. Little's ministry many were added to the 
Church. The parsonage was renovated and greatly improved 
and negotiations were begun at the suggestion of William Hall, 
who for sixteen years was trustee and for nearly that period 
Church treasurer, for the sale of the Presbyterian burying 





FOR one year or from the departure of Dr. Little the pulpit was 
supplied by Rev. John F. Pingry, Ph.D., of Elizabeth, New 
Jersey. Dr. Pingry was born September 26, 1818, at Newbury- 
port, Massachusetts. He graduated at Dartmouth College, 1836, 
was a student in Union Theological Seminary, 1 840-1, and was 
ordained to the ministry, June 28, 1842, at Fishkill, New York, 
where he was pastor four years. But his chief work was that of 

teaching, in which he made 
marked success. He was 
principal of academies in Fish- 
kill, Newark and Elizabeth, 
in the latter city extending 
from 1 86 1 to the time of his 
death, February 16, 1894. 
However, during these many 
years he preached as oppor- 
tunity offered in vacant 
churches, and when he went 
from here so blessed was his 
work that the Church was 
united and ready to call a 
permanent pastor. This call 
was extended to Rev. Aaron 
Peck at a meeting held July 
22, 1S69. He began his work 
in December of that year and was installed January 19, 1870. 
Rev. Benjamin Cory presided; Rev. H. h. Teller of Plainfield 
preached the sermon from Pslam 96: 6, — Honor and majesty 




are before him; strength and beauty are in his sanctuary. The 
charge to the pastor was given by Rev. Everard Kempshall, D.D., 
of Elizabeth, and the charge to the people by Rev. J. F. Pingry, 
Ph. D. 

Aaron Peck was born in Orange, New Jersey, June 7, 1836. 
His preparatory studies for college were under the supervision of 

Rev. D. H. Pierson, D. D., of 
Elizabeth. His college was 
Princeton, where he graduated 
in the class of '57. While a 
student there he made a public 
confession of his faith in the 
Roseville Church, near New- 
ark, at the age of twenty. In 
1858 he entered Princeton 
Seminary, but spent the next 
three years in Union Semin- 
ary where he graduated in 
1864. He was licensed by the 
presbytery of Newark, April 
19, 1864, and spent three 
years as district secretary of 
the American Sunday School 
Union, and as supply of 
churches in Cleveland, Ohio, at the expiration of which service 
he removed to Perth Ambo}'. 

The coming of Mr. Peck infused new life into the congrega- 
tion and started it upon an era of prosperity. The old building 
which had stood without many changes for almost seventy years, 
was remodeled and made more comfortable. The lofty spire gave 
place to a cupola, and an organ alcove in the rear of the pulpit 
and a new vestibule at the entrance were built. The other 
changes were the removal of the gallery, elevation of the ceiling, 
decoration of the walls, replacing of the old windows with 
stained glass, painting the outside of the church and a 
furnace taking the place of the stoves. A pipe organ was 
also bought, new hymn books were introduced and a pul- 




pit and chairs donated. The cost of these improvements 
amounted to ten thousand dollars. To defray these expenses the 
manse in Rector street was sold for three thousand dollars; the 
burying ground on State street for one thousand dollars and the 
remainder subscribed or provided for by bond and mortgage. 

At a congregational meeting held on February 22, 1871, the 
rotary system of electing elders was adopted instead of an active 


service for life, and the elders are now chosen for a term of five 
years. The time of celebrating the Lord's Supper was changed 
from the first to the second Sunday of January, April, July 
and October, which is the time now set apart for the celebration 


of the sacrament. The next important change was in the finan- 
cial affairs of the Church. At a meeting of the congregation in 
1873 it was decided to dispense with pew rentals and depend upon 
the pledged monthly collections. To each family a pew was 
assigned by the trustees. This plan continued until 1900. Dur- 
ing the pastorate sixty persons were received into membership; 
and in an historical sermon preached in July, 1876, which was 
printed, Mr. Peck gave this interesting statement: 

' ' To-day the Church is better temporally and spiritually 
than in days gone by. There never has been a time in the his- 
tory of the Church when there was truly less defection in Christ- 
ian life than now. Never a time, when, if the memory of those 
who knew the Church in its childhood and youth be not faulty, 
the congregations were larger, or its benefactions more num- 

In 1870 the present Board of Education was constituted 
with Mr. Peck as president, in whice office he served for six 
years, and the first public school building in our city was erected, 
the schools using heretofore the City Hall for that purpose. 

In the fall of 1874 on account of ill health Mr. Peck re- 
signed, but this the congregativn refused to accept. A six 
months' vacation was granted, with Rev. S. C. Hay of Wood- 
stock, Illinois, as a supply. At another time the pulpit was sup- 
plied by Rev. James G. Patterson, D. D., of New T York City. 
On September 2, 1877, his resignation was again offered and ac- 
cepted in October. From October 14, 1878, to November 2, 1881, 
Mr. Peck was pastor of the First Church, Williamsburg, Brook- 
lyn, New York. In October, 1883, he took up his residence in 
New York City, where he did efficient w r ork in the missions for 
the lowly and suffering. He died July 3, 1901. On June 16, 
1859, Mr. Peck married Miss Julia Manning, who with one 
daughter survives him. 

On December 1, 1878, Rev. Norman W. Cary became the 
stated supply of the Church and continued in this relation until 
April, 1880. Mr. Cary is a native of New 7 York City. He was 
a student at Phillips Academy, Andover, Yale College, (class of 
1870,) and Princeton Theological Seminary (class of 1873). 
His license came from the presbytery of Philadelphia, 



t»72, and the next year by the same presbytery he was ordained. 
Mr. Cary came to this Church from Bismarck, North Dakota, 
and after his faithful service 
here he accepted a call to Still- 
water, Minnesota. He has 
been also pastor at Grand 
Forks, North Dakota and 
Moorhead, Minnesota; profes- 
sor at Fargo, North Dakota, 
Wilson College, Pennsylvania, 
and the Michigan Military 
Academy. He is at present 
secretary of the Wayne Coun- 
ty Sabbath School Association 
of Michigan and actuary of 
the Citizens' Life Insurance 
Company with a residence 
in Detroit. Mr. Cary married 
Miss Hannah S. Craig, July 
20, 1885. 

The next year after he came to the Church a revival — one 
of the greatest in our history — stirred the city and as a result 
thirty-one persons united at one communion season. 

In July, 1880, Rev. David Stevenson, D. D., was chosen pas- 
tor. Dr. Stevenson was born in Newry, County Down, Ireland, 
in 1820 and came to this country when quite young, residing at 
Cambridge, New York, where he united with the church. He 
spent two years at Princeton College in the class of '47 and was 
a student in Princeton Seminary. He was licensed by the pres- 
bytery of Elizabethtowm April 18, 1850, and ordained an evangel- 
ist by the presbytery of Indianapolis, June 11, 1851. He resided 
in Indiana until 1877, being pastor of the following churches in 
that state: Knightstown, 185 1-2; Third, Indianapolis, 1852-60; 
Union, 1862-3; Eighth, Indianapolis, 1871-2. He was librarian of 
the state for two vears and in 1864 published " Indiana's Roll of 
Honor and Patriotic Dead." He removed to Branchville, N. J., 
where he was pastor from January 1, 1878, until 1880, when he 




accepted the call to the church at Perth Amboy. Dr. Stevenson 
was installed October 15, 1880, Rev. E. Kempshall, D. D., pre- 
sided and gave the charge to 
the people. Rev. J. G. Mason, 
D. D., the charge to the pas- 
tor and Rev. John Ewing 
preached the sermon. His 
pastorate of this Church con- 
tinued for four years, or until 
October, 1884, and these years 
are lovingly remembered by 
all who were in connection 
with the Church at that time. 
He was a perfect gentleman 
and manly man through and 
through, ever charactized by 
true courtesy. His grasp of 
gospel truth was very clear 
and his method of putting it 
enegetic, masterful and 
eloquent. His direct and earnest style and persuasive tone, 
brought him into close sympathy with his hearers and made his 
preaching highly effective, and the result was seen in the conver- 
sion of many souls. 

The churches which Dr. Stevenson afterward served were, 
the First, Williamsburg, Brooklyn, from 1884 to 1886 and 
Gloucester, N. J., from 1889 to July, 1895, when he was honora- 
bly retired from the active work of the ministry. He was much 
beloved by his brother ministers and was conscientious in the 
discharge of his duties as a presbyter. As a commissioner he rep- 
resented his presbyteries in the general assemblies of Charleston, 
1852; New Orleans, 1858; Indianapolis, 1859 and Saratoga 
Springs, 1890. He died October 25, 1901. He was twice mar- 
ried, — September 15, 185 1, in Indianapolis to Miss Mary P. 
Alvord who died in 1868; and in Perth Amboy, December 6, 
1887, to Miss Adele Manning. Dr. Stevenson returned to this 
city in 1899 and was most usefnl in teaching the children in our 




Sabbath school and instrumental in enlarging the chapel at 
Bonhamtown. During his pastorate he was superintendent of 
schools and did much to advance the standard of teaching. 

Many candidates appeared for the vacant pulpit but it was 
not until June 22, 1886, that a final decision was reached, which 
was a most fortunate one for the Church in a call made to Rev. 
James H. Owens, who was at the time pastor of the Reformed 
Dutch Church of Bushnell, Illinois. He was installed Thurs- 
day evening, August 12, the sermon being preached by Rev. B. 
S. Everitt of Jamesburg. Rev. J. A. Laggett, D. D., gave the 
charge to the pastor and Rev. J. G. Mason, D. D., the charge to 
the people. 

This pastorate was greatly blessed in the large additions to 
the membership, two hundred and twenty six persons having 
been received in eight years. The old Sunday school room which 
had done service for nearly half-a-century gave place to the pres- 
ent chapel which was erected in 1891. The year following an 
addition was made to the chapel, a new furnace bought, water 
motor attached to the organ, 
roof repaired, church painted, 
opera chairs instead of the 
pews placed in the church, the 
wall re-decorated and new 
carpet laid, the whole cost be- 
ing $4,000. A manse was 
built on High street in 1887. 
The Christian Endeavor So- 
ciety was organized, the For- 
eign Missionary Society 
brought to life again and mis- 
sion work inaugurated at First 
and Washington streets. In 
1892 Rev. Wilbur F. Chap- 
man, D. D. , conducted Evan- 
gelistic services with re- 
sults of great value to the 


THE MANSE, 1887-1901. 



Mr. Owens' ill health compelled him to go South in the 
winter of 1892-3, the Church readily giving him a vacation; the 
pulpit was supplied by Rev. E. A. Holdridge. To the regret 
of the congregation he accepted a call to the East Side Church 
of Paterson, N. J., in 1894 and the relations which had existed so 
pleasantly were dissolved in February of that year. Mr. Owens 
was born at Hyde Park, N. Y., and at thirteen yearsof age united 
with the First Reformed (Dutch) Church of Yonkers, N. Y. He 
graduated at Rutgers College and New Brunswick Theological 
Seminar}-, was ordained by the classisof Passaic and settled at Fair- 
field, N.J. , from which church he was called to Bushnell. He mar- 
ried Miss Letitia Van Nuis of Jamesburg. The church was sup- 
plied after Mr. Owens' retirement and until the election of a pastor 
by Rev. W. A. Rice, D. D. , Secretary of the American Tract Society. 

On May 3, 1894, Rev. George B. Van Dyke of Watertown, 
New York, was called to the pastorate, and installed July 17. 
Rev. J. A. Blauvelt, D.D., presided and preached the sermon. 
Rev. George Swain, D.D., gave the charge to the pastor and 
Rev. James H. Owens the charge to the people. Mr. Van Dyke 
was born at Bloomsbury, New Jersey, but his parents soon after 
moved to Cranbury, where his 
father, Rev. Joseph S. Van 
Dyke, was pastor of the Sec- 
ond church. He graduated 
from Princeton College, 1888, 
and after teaching a year en- 
tered Princeton Seminary, 
graduating in 1892. He was 
ordained by the presbytery of 
Monmouth, May 12, and on 
June 1, took charge of the 
work in Hope chapel, Water- 
town, a mission of the First 
church, where he remained 
until his removal to this city. 

The mission work in the 
Washington street district was REV. GEORGE b. van dyke. 


transferred to a building on Smith street. Mr. Van Dyke promoted 
the sabbath school work and was instrumental in opening a Sun- 
day school at Keasbey which is now in a flourishing condition. 
The mission at Washington and First streets was removed to 
Smith street, near Prospect, where the services were largely at- 
tended, but in 1898, it was combined with the church school. On 
February 9, 1898, the congregation accepted Mr. Van Dyke's res- 
ignation that he in turn might accept a call to the church at Ham- 
monton, N. J. In December, 1899, he removed to Lowville, N. 
Y. He was married September 14, 1899, to Miss Mary E.. 
daughter of Rev. George Swain, D. D., of Allentown, N. J. 
After Mr. Van Dyke's removal the church was supplied for a 
year by Rev. Henry Ketcham, of Westfield, N.J. 



Arise and Build. 
77 HE twentieth century found the village of Perth Amboy with 

its seven hundred people expanded into a city of twenty 
thousand inhabitants. The tiny seed planted one hundred years 
ago, had grown into a great tree. The great grandchildren of 
the founders of this organization greeted the new century with the 
same faith and confidence that inspired their parents in the misty- 
past. The needs of the growing population demanded a building 
larger and better suited to modern church work; and the voice of 
Nehemiah was heard. — The God of heaven, he will prosper us; 
therefore, we his servants will arise and build. 

On January 10, 1900, a meeting of the congregation was held 
to consider the whole question of building and at its close a com- 
mittee, consisting of the elders and trustees, was appointed as a 
ways and means committee to determine what action could be best 
taken that would increase the accommodations of the church. 
Charles D. Snedeker was appointed chairman and Wilbur LaRoe, 
secretary. In March at another meeting of the congregation, it 
was decided to erect a new building, and in pursuance of this deci- 
sion this committee was authorized to purchase the lot at the south- 
east corner of Market Square for $4,500, which was done. The 
different societies and members of the church entered heartily into 
this movement, secured a sufficient amount of money to make the 
first payment on the lot, and committees were appointed at later 
meetings to secure subscriptions to the amount of $10,000 at least 
for a new church, and invite designs from architects. A.F.Leicht's 
plans were adopted, and contracts were made for the construction 
of a building to cost $20,225. The building committee was chosen 
consisting of John H. Gregory, Edward W. Barnes, John J. 

Errata — For 1900, read 1901. 

4 6 


Deitche and C. D. Snedeker, president of the Board of Trustees. 
The parsonage and the old church were sold, the latter 
now being used for dwelling houses on Catalpa avenue ; an ad- 
ditional lot on the southwest corner of Market and Rector streets 


was bought for $1,500, the church then coining into possession of 
the entire property bounded by the Market Square, Market and 
Rector streets. 

Ground was broken for the new church on Tuesday, Novem- 
ber 20. Preliminary exercises were held in the old building, with 
prayer by Rev. H. G. Mendenhall, and an address by Rev. J. H. 


Owens. The congregation then gathered on the vacant lot where 
our new sanctuary stands and the first shovelful of earth was 
lifted by the pastor, followed by Rev. J. H. Owens. Then follow- 
ing in order were the three members of the church who had been 
in connection with the organization for fifty years and longer, 
Elder C. C. Pierson, Mrs. Frances W. Coutts (represented by 
Miss M. C. Hight) and Mrs. Ellen Sneath (represented by Mrs. 
Herbert Dayton), Edward W. Barnes for the Sunday School, 
Charles D. Snedeker for the trustees, Adrian Lyon for the 
session, Miss A. E.VanNuis for the Foreign Missionary Society, 
Mrs. A. C. Mount for the Home Missionary Society, 
Mrs. S. C. Conipton for the Ladies' Mite Society, Mrs. E. W. 
Barnes for the Ladies' Auxiliary, William W. Henry for the 
Young People's Society of Christian Endeavor, Miss Ella Ram- 
say for the Junior Endeavor Society, John A. Banner for the 
Westminster Cadets, Mrs. James Chalmers for the Choir and C. 
Lee Straub for the ushers. 

The cornerstone of the new building was laid Saturday, April 
12, 1902, with the following order of service : Hymn, Christ isour 
Corner Scone ; Scripture Reading, Rev. R. White ; Prayer, Rev. 
A. W. Sproull, D. D. ; Hymn by the Junior Endeavor Society; 
Addresses by Hon. Charles Keen Seaman, Mayor ; Rev. S. 
Trevena Jackson, Pastor Simpson M. E. Church ; Rev. Percy 
R. Ferris, Pastor Baptist Church ; Rev. Andrew Hanson, Pastor 
Danish M. E. Church ; Hymn, Blest be the. tie that binds ; Ad- 
dress, Rev. Henry Elliott Mott, D. D., Moderator Elizabeth 
Presbytery ; Reading List of Articles Deposited in the Corner 
Stone, Hon. Adrian Lyon; Laying the Stone, by Rev. H. G. 
Mendenhall, D. D. ; Hymn, O Lord of hosts, whose glory fills; 
Benediction, Rev. J. M. McNulty, D. D. A silver trowel used 
in laying the corner stone was presented by Architect Leicht to 
the Church. The list of articles placed in the box is as follows : 

Bible, roll of Church, Sabbath school and officers, of- 
ficers of the Church, Women's Foreign Missionary So- 
ciety, Women's Home Missionary Society, Ladies' Mite 
Society, Ladies' Auxiliary, C. E. Society, Junior C. E. 
Society, Westminster Cadets, Men's League ; topic cards of C. 


E. and Junior C. E. ; program Women's Foreign Missionary So- 
ciety for 1 901 -2 ; copies daily Chronicle and Republican of April 
1 1 ; photographs of the old church and chapel, two inside and 
one outside ; account of breaking ground for new church in 
Chronicle of November 20 ; sermon on President McKinley by 
the pastor ; annual Church report for 1902 ; program of corner 
stone laying ; Presbyterian hand book for 1902 ; history of Pres- 
byterian Church of Perth Amboy by Rev. Aaron Peck, 1876 ; 
first record of the Church organization ; coins of 1901 and 1902 ; 
Presbyterian papers, Banner, Presbyterian, Herald and Presbyter, 
Interior, Evangelist and Observer ; New York Times, Herald, 
Tribune, Sun; Shorter Catechism; Presbyterian publications, As- 
sembly Herald, Women's Work for Women, Home Mission Month- 
ly, Session Helps; Middlesex Sunday School Association minutes. 

The church was dedicated with appropriate ceremonies on 
Sunday, January 25, 1903, the centennial anniversary exercises 
continuing during the week. 

The church is constructed on the lines of the old English 
Gothic style, with a stately tower on one corner and two 
small towers, one on each side of the building, with large 
gables fronting on Market street and the Park. The entrance 
to the main auditorium is through all three towers. The build- 
ing is 78 feet wide and about 115 feet long on the outside, and is 
constructed of Stockton Peach Blossom granite, from the Stock- 
ton quarries, located in the western part of New Jersey. 

The main auditorium is a perfect circle, 64 feet in diameter, 
with seating capacity of 520 persons. The pulpit platform and 
organ loft are circular and beautifully paneled. On the same 
floor are located pastor's study, ladies' parlors, and choir 
rooms with all the necessary conveniences. The ceiling of 
the auditorium is constructed of an open truss and paneled in 
hard wood, with ventilator in the centre. This church is one of 
the most modern and comfortable meeting houses in the State 
of New Jersey. It is lighted throughout with electricity, 
and has a perfect steam heating plant located in the cellar, which 
will be sufficient to make the church comfortable in the coldest 
weather, and is well ventilated for warm weather. Above the 
main vestibule in the large tower is located a room for the meet- 
insrs of the board of trustees. 







The history of Presbyterianism in Perth Amboy can not be 
closed without recalling the fact that in the matter of education our 
church and ministry have had much to do. The first pastors were 
also principals of academies, and their positions were taken, as the 
city grew, by others who were members of the congregation. 
Rev. Job Halsey, D. D., in 1836, established a Ladies' Seminary 
in the building at the northwest corner of Market and Water 


streets, and in 1846, Rev. Luther Halsey was associated with 
him. Students from distant places in our land and the West 
Indies made this school very popular. In 1869 the Raritan Fe- 
male Seminary was opened in the building at the southwest cor- 
ner of Water and Market streets by Misses Marianne and Jennie 
F. Manning, assisted later by Miss Adele Manning. This was also 
prosperous and continued for twenty-seven years. An academy 
for boys was opened in 1835, by Mr. Stephen G. Woodbridge, 
and this was in successful operation for nearly thirty years. 

A library was established very early in the history of this 
church. Its books were of a high character and for a long time 
it was popular and extensively patronized. In 1861 the books 
were sold. In 1888, Mrs. Annie Bower Hesser, who was a resi- 
dent of the Westminster Home, called a meeting of women from 
all the churches to discuss the founding of a public library. This 
meeting began a work which developed into a library association, 
from which has come the present Perth Amboy Public Library 
and the Carnegie Library building. 

The Westminster Home is the government building, dating 
back to 1762, and was the residence, in 1776, of Governor William 
Franklin. It was given in 1883, to the Board of Ministers' Relief 
of the Presbyterian Church, by Dr. Alexander Bruen, son 
of Matthias Bruen, as a home for retired Presbyterian clergymen, 
their widows and children. It has had as its guests many men 
and women who have done valiant service for Christ, in our own 
land, and foreign fields. They have been helpful in the work of 
the local church, as well as a blessing to the city. 


This volume must not end without a record of our mem- 
bers whose names have been on our roll for fifty years and more. 
The first in service was Mrs. Frances H. Coutts, who died during 
the preparation of this history, December 5, 1902. Her maid- 
en name was Frances H. Wheaton. She was born in this city, 
December 23, 1820, and united with the church in 1834, her 
membership extending through sixty-eight years. She was 
married in 1840, to George M. Coutts. 



Mrs. Eleanor Sneath has been a member for fifty-nine years. 
She was enrolled in 1843. Her birth place was Perth Amboy, 
and the time, 1821. Her maiden name was Eleanor Wood. She 
was married to John W. Sneath in 1846. 

Caleb C. Pierson. See page 53. 

Mrs. James Wait's membership covers fifty-one years. Her 
maiden name was Emma Hughes, and she was married in 1848. 

Mrs. Emma Compton united with the church in 1853. Her 
maiden name was Emma Disosway, and she was married in 1846, 
to George Alfred Compton. 


This church is honored 
in having one of its members 
enrolled as a foreign mission- 
ary in far-off India — Miss 
Emma Morris. Miss Morris, 
daughter of Frank B. and 
Emma Girvan Morris, was 
born in Mauch Chunk, Pa., 
where she became a member 
of the Presbyterian Church. 
She was educated in the 
public schools of her native 
city and Miss Gertrude 
Smith's Seminary, in Perth 
Amboy. She became a raem- 
miss Emma morris. ber of this church in 1886, 

and in 1892 was appointed by the Board of Foreign 
Missions, of the Presbyterian Church, a missionary teacher 
in India. For five years she labored at Eodiana, and for two 
years was a teacher in the Woodstock School. She then 
returned to her home land on a furlough for one year, but, in 
1901. was back again in India. Her present station is Jagraon, 
Punjab, where she is engaged in Zenana Work. 



The pastor, Harlan G. Mendenhall, D. D., is a native of 
Coatesville, Penn. He was educated at Williston Seminary, 
Lafayette College and Western Theological Seminary; licensed 
by the presbytery of Chester, and ordained by the presbytery of 
Fort Wayne. He came to this church from the First Church 
of Kansas City, Kansas, March, 1900, but was not installed until 
May 9, 1 90 1. At that service, Rev. J. G. Mason, D. D., of 
Metuchen, presided ; Rev. W. R. Richards, D. D., of Plainfield, 
preached the sermon; Rev. W. A. Rice, D. D., of Newark, 
gave the charge to the pastor ; and Rev. E. B. Cobb, D. D., of 
Elizabeth, the charge to the people. 

Caleb C. Pierson has been a member of this church for 
fifty-two years. He united on profession of his faith with the 
Montclair Church in 1843, and transferred his membership to 
Perth Amboy in 1850. In 1855, he was elected elder and has 
served continuously for forty-seven years. In 1858, he was 
elected trustee, and served as such for sixteen years. 

Edward W. Barnes united with this church on certificate 
from the church in Tamaqua, Pa., in 1865. In 187 1, he was 
elected elder and clerk of session. He continued to act as clerk 
for twenty-eight years. In 1878 he became superintendent of 
the Sunday School. He was mayor of this city in 1894-6. He 
was a member of the school board in 189 1-4. 

Adrian Lyon united with this church in 1888, on certificate 
from the church of Pluckemin, N. J. He was chosen elder in 
1898, and clerk in 1899. Mr. Lyon is also assistant general 
superintendent of the Sunday School. He was superintendent 
of public schools in Perth Amboy, in 1894-5 > member of the 
legislature in the sessions of 1900 and 1901; and appointed judge 
of the first district court of Perth Amboy, 1901. 

Samuel E. Shull transferred his membership from ^he 
church of South Easton, Pa., in 1895, and was elected elder in 
1898. Mr. Shull has been superintendent of the schools of this 
city since 1895, and is a member of the Public Library Board. 







John .r. deitche. 






John J. Deitche became a resident of Perth Amboy in 1867, 
bnt his membership in this church did not begin until 1879, 
when he was received by letter from the church of Metuchen. 
That year he was elected a trustee and has served continuously 
since that time. Mr. Deitche is superintendent of the Inter- 
mediate department of the Sunday-school. In 1896-7 he was an 
alderman of the city. He is engaged in the retail and wholesale 
grocery business. 

C. Douglas Fraser united with the church on profession of faith 
in 1889. He was elected trustee in 1900. Mr. Fraser is Over- 
seer of the Silver Refinery of the American Smelting Company. 

John H. Gregory was received into membership on certificate 
from the church of Red Bank in 1888. He was elected trustee 
in 1900. Mr. Gregory's business is that of wrecker and dealer 
in vessels. 

Wilbur LaRoe became a member of the church is 1889 on a 
certificate from the church of Westfield. He was elected trustee 
in 1899. Mr. LaRoe is assistant Editor and Manager of the 
daily "Chronicle." 

Henry Petty united with the church on profession of faith in 
1892. He was chosen trustee in 1894. Mr. Petty is a member 
of the firm of Petty & Applegate. 

Charles D. Snedeker became a member of the organization in 
1895 on certificate from the Second Reformed Dutch Church in 
New Brunswick, N. J. He was elected trustee in 1899. Mr. 
Snedeker is a member of the Public Library Board and is sec- 
retary and treasurer of the Perth Amboy Dry Dock Company. 

Samuel S. Shull was elected trustee in 1900. 


In addition to the large and generous gifts of individuals and 
socities, the following special gifts have been made to the new 
church : 

Desk for pastor's study by Ladies' Mite Society. 
Carpet for church and study by Ladies' Auxiliary. 
Collection plates by Mrs. Charles D. Snedeker and Mrs. John J. 


Pulpit furniture by Adrian Lyon. 

Pulpit cloth and Bible marker by Miss Bertha M. Mitchell. 

Hymn board and chairs for communion table by Mrs. Ella Men- 
denhall Baldwin and Howard L. Mendenhall. 

Two collection plates by Edward W. Barnes. 

Table for platform by the Junior class of the Sunday school in 
memory of their teacher, Rev. David Stevenson, D. D. 

Communion table by Misses Emma and Mary Morris and Mrs. 
Lindsay Morris Stirling, in memory of their father, Frank 
B. Morris, for thirteen years a trustee of this church and 
for many years a teacher in the Sabbath school. 

Collection plate by Mrs. Amelia G. Hadden in memory of her 
husband, Cornelius Hadden, a trustee for ten years and an 
elder for twenty-seven years. 

Collection plate by Mrs. Georgia Mitchell Watson, in mem- 
ory of her mother, Mrs. Sarah B. Mitchell, a member of 
this church, 1879-1900. 

Baptismal Font by Mr. and Mrs. James W. Lupton, in memory 
of their children, Carrie May and Edna M. 

Memorial window by Mrs. Julia Peck, in memory of her hus- 
band, Rev. Aaron Peck, pastor of this church 1869- 1877. 
This window pictures the miracle recorded in Luke 5: 1-11 
— the draught of fishes. In the foreground are Peter and 
James toiling at the breaking net ; John stands behind them. 
On the opposite side of the ship is Christ, who speaks to 
Peter the precious words — Fear not ; from henceforth thou 
shalt catch men. 




Perth Amboy, Jan'y 23, 1804. 

The following persons, viz. Elias Riggs, minister, and John 
Angus, David Wait and John Lewis, who had been previousl)- 
chosen, and set apart by prayer, to the office of Ruling Elders in 
the Presbyterian Church in this place, met by agreement, at the 
house of John Angus and constituted a Session. Began with 
prayer. ' 

The Session thought proper to begin their minutes with a his- 
torical account of the rise and progress of this church. The fol- 
lowing, drawn up by Mr. Riggs, being deemed as full and satis- 
factory as can be obtained, was ordered to be inserted. 

[Here follows the history already printed elsewhere.] 

On the 27th of August, agreeably to previous notice such per- 
sons as had been members of the Presbyterian Church met to- 
gether in the house of God, and there, as in His presence, sub- 
scribed the following covenant: 

"We, whose names are hereunto subscribed, professing faith 
in the Lord Jesus Christ, the Saviour of sinners, and having for- 
merly, according to this our faith, publicly dedicated ourselves to 
God, and connected ourselves with his professing people, being now 
removed to an inconvenient distance from our former christian 
connections, and still desirous, in this place, as in every place 
where the Lord may cast our lot, of enjoying the privilege of 
christian fellowship and of testifying our attachment to our 
Lord, by waiting upon him in the ordinances of his appointment, 
in a regular manner, do solemnly engage to unite together for 
these good purposes, mutually to watch over and mutually to 
submit ourselves under Christ, to the watch and guardianship of 
one another, hoping and praying, that, in due time, under the 


divine blessing, we may be more fully organized and built up to- 
gether a holy church of God." 

John Angus, Elizabeth Coddington, 

Margaret Clark, Phebe Harriott, 

Margaretta Clark, Rachel Friend. 

Mr. Jno. Lewis, who was unexpectedly prevented from at- 
tending this meeting, assented to the covenant and subscribed 
his name in the evening of the same day. 

Lord's day, August 28, 1803. The sacrament of the Lord's 
Supper was celebrated. This was ye first time, so far as we 
know, that this holy ordinance was ever observed in Amboy, 
after the Presbyterian manner. 

On this day Mr. David Wait joined himself to our little flock. 
Mrs. Susanna Thomson, who had been a member of the Metho- 
dist Church, was received to communion with us. 

Lord's day Jan'y 22, 1804. Messrs. John Angus, David 
Wait and John Lewis were solemnly set apart by prayer, to the 
office of ruling elders in this church, and on the following even- 
ing entered upon their office as above related. Concluded with 
prayer. — 


"In the Presbyterian Church at the City of Perth Amboy, 
Saturday evening, July 14th, 1804 

The male members having met for the purpose of choosing 
trustees for this church in conformity to the act of incorporation, 
public notice having been given by advertisement at least ten 
days previously, The Rev. Elias Riggs was chosen moderator 
after which they proceeded to the choice of three trustees, when 
John Angus, David Wait and John Lewis were unanimously 
elected. Attest. Elias Riggs, 

Mod. of the meeting:. 

We the subscribers, being duly elected on the 14th day of 
July, one thousand eight hundred and four, as trustees of the 
Presbyterian Church of the City of Perth Amboy, in the County 
of Middlesex and State of New Jersey, and having taken the 
oaths required by law, do call and subscribe ourselves as above 
expressed, the Trustees of the Presbyterian Church in the City 
of Perth Amboy. 

Witness our hands and seals this 10th day of December, 1804. 

Jno. Angus [l. s.] 
David Wait [l. s.] 
John Lewis [l. s.] 




Came to the clerk's office of Middlesex County, December 13, 
1804, and was recorded in book entitled "Incorporated Societies" 
hv Wm. P. Deare, Clerk. 

Middlesex County ) 
State of New Jersey ) SS 
Personally appeared before me, Ephriam Harriot, "one of the 
Justices of the Peace in and for said county, John Angus, David 
Wait and John Lewis, trustees elect for the Presbyterian Church 
of the City of Perth Amboy, and have taken the oaths prescribed 
by the fifth section of religious societies, viz: The oath to sup- 
port the constitution of the United States, the oath of allegiance 
prescribed by law and an oath for the faithful execution of the 
trust reposed in them. 

Sworn before me this tenth day of December, 1804, one of the 
Justices of the Peace in and for said county. 

Ephr'm Harriott, 

Justice of Peace. 


We the subscribers have paid into the hands of Capt. John 
Angus, the sums affixed to our respective names for the purpose 
of building a Presbyterian Church in the City of Perth Amboy, 
in the State of New Jersey, where there was formerly one which 
was destroyed in the Revolutionary War. 

New York Subscribers — Arch Gracie, 20; Jno. Munro, 20; 
Daniel Gordon, 10; Samuel Campbell, one doz. Psalm book's for 
the poor; William Cumberland, one Gilt Dove for the Pulpit; 
Thomas Buchanan, 20; Gilbert Robertson, 20; Peter Kemble, 5; 
Alexander Stewart, 2 kegs and a half of yellow paint and 5; 
Charles Smith, Water street, 5; Thomas Post, 5; Thos. Carpen- 
ter, 10; Nat. Bloodgood, 2.50; Thomas H. Smith Jr., 2; Matthew 
Roger, 3; Edward Reid, 3; Henry Ten Brook, 5; John B. Clark, 
5; T. Satten, 3; Garrit Gilbert, 3; Edward Etting, 2.50; John 
McKillop, 3; Walter Rutherford, 25; John Roe, 25; Ebenz. 
Stevens, one large Bible for the use of the church; Brockholst 
Livingstone, 15; W. Neilsen, 20; Margaret Douglas, 15; Henry 
Rutgers, 30; J. G. Warren, 15; Daniel McCormick, 20; Andrew 
Smith, 20; David Bethune, 20; Peter Schemerhorn, 1=;; Samuel 
Burling, the Mahogany for the Pulpit equal to 40; George Cald- 
well, Communion vessels; James Scott, 20; Andrew Anderson, 10; 
John Hone, 10; Wm. Renwick, 15; J. N. Griffith, ro; A. Y. 


Tuyl, 5; H. Kermit, 10; Geo. Barnewall, 10; James Tillary, 10; 
John MacGregor, 10; Benj. Page, 5; John Stevens, 20; Jas. Rob- 
ertson, 5; H. Scott, 10; Isaac Roe, 5; Robt. Cocks, 10; Robert 
Stewart, 5; Ambraham Varick, 5; R. Richer, 5; Andrew Morris, 
5; Robert Gosman, 5; H. G. Rutgers, 5; cash, 258. 

Philadelphia Subscribers — Elias Boudinot, 20; Robt. Ralston, 
20; Robert Smith, 20; Thos. Ewing, 20; Thomas Leiper, 20; 
Magnus Miller, 20; James Crawford, 20; Thos. M. Kean, 20; 
Geo. Latimer, 20; John Maybin, 20; Stephen Girard, 20; J. B. 
Hennesey, 20; Geo. Z. Reinnour for Paul Siemen, 20; Geo. Z. 
Reinnour, 20; Hugh Jackson, 20; John Steinmetz, 20; John G. 
Wachsmuth, 20; Lewis Clapier, 20; Benjamin Wickes, 20; Ed- 
ward Bard, 20; Richard Stiles, 10; Henry Pepper, 10; J. Cnoly, 
20; Chas. S. Baneker, 10; Lewis Neill, 20; G. Hamilton, 20; 
Joseph Higbee, 20; William Bainbridge, 20; Walter Lowrey, 50. 

Newark and Elizabethtown Subscribers — D. W. DeCamp, 20; 
Elisha Boudinot, 10; Archibald Mercer, 10; James Hadden, 3; 
Jas. Ten Brook, 3; J. M. Cunning, 10; Arch Gifford, 5; Alex C. 
McWhorter, 6; Isaac Ailing, 10; Stephen Hays, 4; Benjamin 
Coe, 5; Ezra Baldwin, 5; Samuel Whitaker, 2; Caleb Wheeler, 2; 
Uzal Sayrs, 5; Nath'l Beach, 10; Abiel Campbell, 2; Daniel 
Banks, 1; Jacob Plum, 1; Timothy Anderson, 2; George Scriba, 
10; Moses McCombs, 6; Adam D. Crane, 2; F. Burnet, 3; John 
Wallis, 1 ; Samuel Hay, 3; Samuel Remington, 1; S. Gould, 1; I. 
Parkhurst, 2; Nath'l Seabury, 2; Jonathan Sayre, 5; Henry Kol- 
lock, 20; Lewis Woodruff, 2; Elias Dayton, 10; E. B. Dayton, 4; 
John Chandler, 5; Ralph Price, 1; Wililam Dayton, 1; Ralph 
Marsh, 2. 

Boston Subscribers — Samuel Elliott, 50; Benj. Bussey, 20; Ed- 
ward Blake, Jr. , 20; Jeremiah Allen, 20; Thomas & Andrews, in 
books to the academy connected with the church at Amboy, one 
hundred volumes; Eben Dow, 25; J. E. 5, K. J. 5, D. J. 5, 15; 
Thos. K. Jones, 20; Win. Ritchie, 10; Friends, 75; Joseph 
Coolidge, 20; Jed. Morse. 5 and fifteen books; K. G. Shaw, 10; 
Robert Murry, 10; Gid Snow, 10; Charles dishing, 5; Samuel 
Bradford, 10; J. Q. Adams, 10; Samuel Ingalls, 10; Simon For- 
rester, 10; Jacob Ashton, 10; Edward Allen Jr., 10; John 
Derby, 16; B. Parkman, 20; George Crownishield & Sons, 20; 
George Dodge, 10; Samuel Derby, 5; Clifford Crownishild, 10; 
Samuel Snelling, 10; J. White & Co., thirty-five volumes books 
to the Academy; Eben Lackin, twenty volumes books to the 
Academy; Wash Greenleaf, twenty volumes books to the Acad- 
emy; John Boyle, 10, in books to the Academy; Samuel Hall, 
10, in books to the Academv; A. F. Gregone, 10. 


Porthsmouth, N. H. Subscribers — John Rangoon, 10; Elijah 
Ladd, 10; E. Cutts, 3; Samuel Hill, 5; James Sheaff, 10. 

Misplaced while on board the packet a paper subscribed to the 
amount of 152 dollars by the inhabitants of Newport and Provi- 
dence, R. I. 


We the subscribers promise to pay the sums affixed to our re- 
spective names in quarterly payments, for the support and main- 
tenance of a Presbyterian Minister in the City of Perth Amboy 
for one year to commence as soon as he shall begin to officate in 
his duty. Commenced March 7, 1802. 

Margaretta Clark . . . .20 David Marsh 8 

J no. Angus 20 George Compton 8 

David Wait 10 William Chase 6 

James Harriott 10 Abraham Webb 4 

Richard Stevens .... 10 Thomas Crow 5 

Abraham Ay res .... 10 Benj. Ford 8 

Joseph Golding 4 Shubal Merritt 8 

Caleb Ward 8 Cornelius Disosway .... 5 

James Compton 10 Joseph Wright 2 

William Cross 6 William Hamilton 6 

John Roe 6 70 


Know all men by these presents that I Elias Riggs have con- 
stituted and do hereby constitute my worthy friends John Angus, 
Esq., John Lewis, Esq. and Mr. David Wait or either of them, 
my lawful attorney, with full power, jointly or severally, as to 
them may seem expedient, to act for me in collecting and re- 
ceipting for all monies which are now due to me for services per- 
formed in Perth Amboy. Witness ray hand and seal this 24th 
day of March, A. D., 1807. Elias Riggs. 

Witness: Lewis Compton. 


Amboy City, July 5, 1802. 
July 1802. 

To making 15 spikes £ 0.15.06 

To altering a spiar 6.00 

To 12 staples and keys 6.06 

To 2 hinges 1.2.06 

To making a lightning rou . . . . . _\ 12.00 


To making staples 3-° 6 

To 12 i^ bolts 12.06 

To making staples 5.00 

To 12 plates, 2 beams pnlpit 1. 11.00 

To 1 Hook, 2 bands 11.06 

To Gudgeons boxes and rivets 16.00 

To 11 locks and rivets 3.06 

To 6 screw bolts 6.06 

To hinges, 1 rod iron 14.06 

To 1-2 the amount of work by Web and Comp- 

ton 1. 16.01 

12. 2.7 
Deduct by subscription to the church $20 . . 8. 



We the subscribers promise to pay into the hands of John 
Angus, David Wait or John Lewis, or their successors, trustees 
of the Presbyterian Church and Academy in the City" of Perth 
Amboy, the sum affixed to our respective names, for the purpose 
of building a Parsonage House for the accommodation of the 
pastor and principal of the said church and academy. It is ex- 
pressly understood that the object of this donation is for the com- 
bined purpose of procuring a competent teacher for the seminary 
of Amboy. Having found by experience that the emoluments 
heretofore have not been sufficient to support a proper character; 
it is therefore proposed to subscribe a sufficient sum to build a 
a house for the pastor of said church and teacher of the academy. 

Perth Amboy, Sept. 22, 1809. 

James Harriott, $20; William Cross, 25; Abraham Avers, 15; 
Elizabeth Codington, 20; William Bloodgood, 10; Daniel Avers, 
vSr., in timber or stone, 7.50; Joshua Bloodgood in mason work, 5; 
John Lewis, 40; Rev. D. C. Hopkins (all due on pew rent) 3; 
James Flate, 2; Rev. Elias Riggs, 30; May Cook, 5; Margaret 
Clark, 2.50; John Angus, the ground to build the Manse in 120 
and 100 in cash; Samuel Angus, 50; Alex Sample, 30; Robert 
Bethel, 25; Tutor Brown, 10; Arthur Harper, 10; James Rich- 
ards, 5; John McDowell, 5; John Mills, 5; Barclay Carll, 5; Sam- 
uel D. Smith, 5; Samuel Miller, 5; Edward D. Griffin, 5; Ebenez- 
er Grant, 10; Matthew LaPerrine, 5; Noah Crane, 2.50; Asa Hill- 
yer, 5; John Woodhull, 5; Nathan Woodhull, 5; Win. Lawson, 



2.50; G. Williams, 3; Phin Manning, 25; John Brewster, 1; J. 
Manning, 18; Mrs. Sarah Malcom, 10; John Bayard, 5; M. 
Chrystie, 3; Thomas Brown, 10; Governor Crawford, 5; Robt. 
Bethell, 10; Daniel Perrine, 20; Nath'l Manning, 15; James Mor- 
gan, 10; Daniel Perrine, 20 on condition that the parsonage 
house is not mortgaged; George Compton, 5; Charles Ford, 3; 
John Viof, 3; Thomas Avers, 5; David Wait, 55; Jas. Edgar, 10; 
Thomas Akin, 25; N. K. Taylor, 10; Wm. Hamilton, 5; Lewis 
Arnold, 5; Benj. Ford, 2; Charles Ford, 3; Wm. Ford, Jr., 2; 
Isaac Potter, 5. 

bill rendered by alex sample for parsonage. 

Perth Amboy, 1809. 
Trustees of Presbyterian Church. 

To Alex Sample, Dr. 

May 31. 1 lb Rought Neils £ o. 1 .05 



















Sundreys to Black Benn 

14 oz. Powder for Blowing Stone 

1 quart Spirits 

1 ' quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

3 pints Spirits t . . 

4 lb Rought Neils 

1 gallon Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

1 lb Putty 

1 quart Spirits 

1 quart Spirits 

4 papers lamblack @ l /> . . . . 

1 quart Spirits 

7 lb iod Neils 

18 lb iod Neils 


1. 00 


28. 4 lb whiteing, 1 lb Rought Neils 3.05 

30. 22 8d Neils 1.2.00 

Sept. 1. 6 lb Neils, 1 lb Rought Neils 7.05 

3 pints Spirits 3.09 

2. 1 quart Spirits, 4 lb Neils 6.06 

4. 12 lb Neils 12.00 

9. 13 lb Neils 13-00 

14. 7 lb Neils 7.00 

15. 1 quart Spirits 2.06 

16. iolb Neils, 2 Rought Neils 12.10 

28. 4 lb Putt}- 4.00 

Oct. 3. 1 quart Spirits 2.06 

13. 3 lb Yallow Paint, 1-2 lb Litchragh .... 5.00 

1 quart Spirits 1.06 

19. 6 lb White Lade 11.00 

1 lb Putty, 1-2 lb Litchragh 2.06 

23. 8 lb Neils 8.00 

To cash paid Bonnenton for diging seller . 2.0.00 

To do for Blowin Stone 14.00 

To do for Plasterin Hare 12.00 

To do for Wikes Mans Bording 2.00.00 



Persons composing the congregation of the Presbyterian 
Church of this city, who wish to see its property improved by 
having a well made on the parsonage lot as well to render it 
more convenient and comfortable for their pastor, as to add to its 
value hereafter, are now called upon to contribute towards that 
object in any way that may be most convenient to themselves 
either in money, labour or material. These therefore who feel 
disposed to lend their aid will affix opposite their respective 
names whatever they choose to give towards so useful and neces- 
sary appendage to the property of their church. The amount 
required not being great the contribution, if general, will fall 
light upon all. 

Then follow twenty-four names with $58 in cash and labor 
and material. 


Number Name Annual Tax 

1 James Wait 8 

2 David Smally and Isaac Andrew 5.00 

3 Mrs. Dorset 3-5 $3 5.00 


4 Caleb Ward 5.00 

5 John Angus, Esq 8.00 

6 The estate of Phineas Mailing, dec'd .... 8.00 

7 Henry Hampton y? $4 8.00 

8 Vacant 8.00 

9 " 3-5o 

10 L,ewis Arnold 3.50 

11 Vacant 3.50 

12 Thomas Akin 3.00 

13 Nathaniel K. Taylor 3.00 

[4 Vacant 2.50 

15 i-50 

16 1.50 

17 " x -50 

18 " 4.00 

9 i Taken up for Library 4.00 

21 Vacant 2.50 

22 " 3.00 

23 3-00 

24 " 3-5o 

25 William Bloodgood 3.50 

26 Thomas Griggs 3.50 

27 Mrs. Coddington 8.00 

28 James Compton 8.00 

29 Col. James Harriott 8.00 

30 Daniel Perrine, Esq. ^$5 and Dr. Mailing . 8.00 

31 Mrs. Cook v ? $2.50 5.00 

32 John Lewis 5.00 

33 George Compton 5.00 

34 Vacant 5-°° 

35 " 8 -°° 

36 John Angus, Esq. and Alex Semple .... 7.00 

37 Daniel Manning % $3.50 7.00 

38 Simeon Drake 7.00 

39 Benjamin Ford 7.00 

40 Abraham Ayers 7.00 

41 Vacant 7-°° 

42 Daniel Ayers Y? $3.50 Thomas Seamen 2. . . 7.00 

43 William Cross 6.00 

44 Vacant 6.00 

45 " 6.00 

46 " 5-00 

47 " • 5-oo 




We the subscribers do hereby promise to pay unto the Rev. 
Peter Stryker the sums annexed to our names, annually for his 
labour as a minister of the Gospel, as long as he resides in the 
City of Perth Amboy or till such time as we remove or withdraw 
our names, which notice we will give in writing to him or the 
trustees of the Presbyterian Church of Perth Amboy. The sums 
annexed to be paid in quarterly payments viz, the one fourth part 
to be paid on the first day of February next, the second on the 
first day of May, the third on the first day of August and the 
fourth on the first day of November following, and so much 
yearly as long as he remains the pastor of the said church or we 
his hearers. 

As witness our hands November i, 1809. 

John'; Angus . . . 


Alexander Sample . 


Daniel Perrine . . 


Jeremiah Manning . 


Nath'l Manning . . 


John Lewis . . . . 


James Compton . . 


N. K. Taylor . . . 


Thomas Griggs . . 


Thomas Seaman . . 


A Friend 


George Compton . 


Daniel Mailing . . 


Thomas Akin . . . 


Dr. Hempton . . . 


Elizabeth Dorset . 


Jacob Lewis . . . 


Ruel Hampton . . 

May Cook 

Abraham Ayers . . 
Elizabeth Coddington 
G. Conrad Bender 
William Ford, Jr . 
David Wait .... 
Lewis Arnold . . . 
James Harriott . . . 
William Cross . . . 
David Smalley . . . 
Rebecca H. Brown 
Simeon Drake . . . 
Elizabeth Andrew 
Wm. Bloodgood . . 
Daniel Ayers, Jr . 
James Edgar . . . 






Sept. 24 — To cash paid Mr. Hardenburg (lawyer) . .$20.00 
To cash paid for brandy .75 

April 1825 — To fee paid Theodore Frelinghuysen . . . . 20.00 

May 1826 — To cash Mr. Mann his bill 4 dinners 1.50 . . 

To cash half pint liquor ordered at Posts .50 2.00 

July 13 — To cash 3 dinners at Mann's, 1.00 

To cash Posts half liquor ord. .50 1.50 


May 1827 — To cash Tolls 2 gates, horsefeed 1.87 

To cash Stage hire from Amboy to Trenton . 3.00 

To cash Palmer's bill 3 days, 1 meal at Trenton 3.50 

To cash Gulich stage hire to New Brunswick 2.00 

To cash boat house .25 

The whole bill amounted to $317.78. 


Received from Mr. John V. Crawford, on February 14, 1824, 
thirty-nine dollars and fifty cents; and from Mr. Alexander 
Semple, on April 26, 1824, fifty-eight dollars and fifty cents, be- 
ing payment in full, exclusive of board and lodging, for minis- 
terial services performed, as a stated supply appointed by the 
Presbytery of Jersey, in the Presbyterian Church of Perth Am- 
boy from the second Sabbath in November 1823, to the last Sab- 
bath in April 1824 inclusive. Michael Osborne. 


Board of trustees met at 7 y 2 o'clock. On motion Resolved — 

1st. That we raise $70 for warming the church. 

2d. That the old stove loaned by Mr. Bruen be cleaned and 
returned with the thanks of the Board for its use. 

3d. That with the sum raised we procure three cylinder 
stoves and other fuel. 

4th. That J. F. Halsey, S. Andrews and C. F. Maurice be 
the committee to raise money. 

5th. That committee be authorized to sell the old stove. 

6th. That the monthly collection for church expenses be 
taken in the evening as well as morning. 

7th. That the pews taken from where the stoves now stand 
be replaced. 

8th. That Dr. Andrews be authorized to carry out his propo- 
sition and alter the pews of the middle block according to the 
plan of the first two. 

9th. That the holders of side pews be allowed to alter their 
pews to correspond with the middle block. 

10th. That the superintendent of the Sunday-school be re- 
quested to notify the teachers that the seats occupied by the 
scholars must be put in proper order after the school is dismissed. 
Adjourned. C. F. Maurice, Sec'v. 



New York, Oct. 27, 1838. 
Chas. F. Maurice, Esq. 

for Presbyterian Church, P. Amboy. 

Bought of St ratten & Seymour 

(Successors to H. Nott & Co. ) 

Wholesale & Retail Stove Dealers, 

242 Water street. 

To ( 2 ) Cylindrical Sheet Iron Stoves $23.00 

50 lbs Russia Iron Pipe @ 2-s 12.50 

1-2 Cartage 19 

Donation to church . . 5.69 

Dear Sir: 

We herewith send you the Two Stoves ordered. Ornamental 
instead of Plain as ordered by Dr. Andrews, which we take the 
responsibility to alter and have made a small donation which we 
hope will be acceptable to you. 

With Respect, Yours truly. 

Stratten & Seymour. 

also 2 Shakers & Pokers. 


The object of this meeting was stated to determine on the best 
means of raising the funds now wanted for the church. After 
consultation it was Resolved: 

1 st. That hereafter a collection shall be taken every Sabbath 
to defray the expenses incurred for fuel, lights, etc., and to dis- 
charge the debts now due by the church. 

2tt. That all persons having unsettled accounts against the 
church be requested to present them before Saturday, 2d of Nov. 
to Mr. D. Crowell. 

3d. That this res. be read on Sunday next by the chairman. 

4th. That Mr. Halsey prepare a short appeal to the congre- 
gation on the necessity of better liberality in the contributions 
showing the need of it. 



Perth Amboy, Oct. 6, 1818. 

At a meeting of the trustees of the Perth Amboy Academy, 
present Rev. Dr. Andrews, chairman; Matthew Bruen, Major 
Lamb, Mr. Semple and John Brewster. John Brewster was chosen 
secretary pro tern. 

Roger W. Griswold offered himself to take charge of said 
Acadamy as Preceptor and haveing prodused his credentials of 
having graduated at Yale College and Prodused Letters of recom- 
mendation which we approved, unanimously agreed to envite Mr. 
Griswold to take charge of said Academy and depend on the 
School for Compensation at the following prices for Tuition: 
For the Languages and the higher Branches of Mathe- 

maticks . $5-QO 

Geography and English Grammer 3.50 

Reading, Wrighting and Arithmatick 3.00 

Reading and Wrighting 2.50 

Spelling and Reading ... 2.00 

Mr. Griswold to continue the school for at least one year. 
To commence on Mondav the 12th Instant. 

[to the trustees] 

Apl. 12, 1823. 
An application was made by Mr. Miner the teacher in the 
Academy for the loan of a pair of Globes belonging to the con- 
gregation, whereupon it was unanimously resolved that the 
Globes be loaned to the teacher and that a receipt be taken for 
them to be returned at any time when called for by the trustees. 


"The means for defraying the current expenses are derived 
from annual assessments upon the pews and by voluntary sub- 
scriptions. Each pew has a specific valuation and is held only so 
long as the assessments are met. These are received quarterly, 
falling due on the first of May, August, November and February, 
but are payable one month in advance. Prompt payment is in- 
dispensible in order that the trustees may honorably meet their 
engagements. Pews may be rented at any season of the year, by 
making application to any of the trustees. Sittings will also be 
furnished to the poor with a due consideration of their circum- 
stances. Persons occupying pews will be expected in all cases to 
pay for their use, unless special arrangements have been made 
with the trustees. As the trustees occupy their office without re- 


ward, it is highly proper that all who are interested in the wel- 
fare of the church should facilitate their efforts as far as possible, 
in order that the temporal interests of the congregation may be 
promptly and efficiently administered." 


The church sexton in 1822, was Joseph B. Wood. He re- 
ceived an annual salary of $16 and half a pew free. In 1857 
when Samuel Teller was sexton, the salary was increased to $50 
per year. 

In 1857 the trustees ordered the bell rung at all meetings of 
the congregation during the week as well as on Sunday. That 
same year the members of the church were asked to stand at the 
singing of the second hymn and the last prayer. In the receipts 
of that year reported in the accounts of the trustees, was a 
"$5 counterfeit bill." 

The Board of Trustees in 1857 adopted as the seal of the 
church "the reverse side of a gold eagle." 

In 1821 the church had its accounts "lodged in a Savings 
Bank in New York." 

The trustees in 1861 appointed one of their number to "inform 
the sexton that sweeping the church and filling lamps must be 
done on week davs instead of Sundavs. ' ' 


William Hall, Ch. Keen, I. S. Harned, H. D. Tyrrell, D. T. 
Wait and Capt. C. White. 


F. A. Seaman, E. W. Barnes, W. B. Mount, Wm. H. Hall. 


E. W. Barnes, William B. Mount, William H. Hall, Frank B. 
Morris, F. A. Seaman, I. D. Shay, Rev. J. H. Owens. 



The following is the list of those who have filled the office of 
Ruling Elders since the organization of the church: 

John Angus 180. 

David Wait 1804 — ] 

John Lewis 18a 

Alexander Semple 181 2 — i 

James Harriott 1814- 

John V. Crawford 1822 — ] 

Samuel R. Ford 1822 — i 

Charles Ford . . . ; 1826 — 

John D. See 1836 — 

Samuel E. Woodbridge 1836 — 

Zadok Mundy 1836- 

David Crowell 1849 - 

Daniel Selover I 849 — ] 

Stephen G. Woodbridge ^49 — ] 

Caleb C. Pierson 1855 — 

Cornelius D. Selover 1855- 

William Laforge 1856- 

Henry D. Tyrrell 1856- 

Cornelius Hadden 1871- 

Edward W. Barnes 187 1 — - 

Frank Grimstead 1892 — 1897 

Philip Gibson 1897 — 

Adrian Lyon 1898 — 

Samuel S. Shull 1898 — 

William H. Hall 1898— 1899 







In 1 840 the records of the Board of Trustees were destroyed 
by fire and it is impossible to know definitely all the trustees who 
served prior to that time; but from old papers the following per- 
sons have served in that office from 1804 to 1840: 

John Angus, David Wait, John Lewis, Benjamin Maurice, 
William Paterson, James Harriott, William Ford, Simeon 
Drake, John Wait, Lewis Compton, Matthias Bruen, Alexander 
Semple, David Crowell, Charles Ford, Mr. Lamb, Daniel 
LaTourette, John Brewster, Col. Griggs, John Bender, John 
Patrick, Oliver Ogden, John Young, Edward Ford, George 
Hampton, Dr. Solomon Andrews, J. F. Halsey, C. F. Maurice. 
1840. Benjamin Maurice, David Crowell, Charles F. Maurice, 
Edwin Ford, William I. Ford, John Wait. 


1846. Stephen G. Woodbridge. 

1847. Alexander M. Bruen, William Paterson, Cornelius H. 

Schaps, David T. Wait. 
1855. Henry D. Tyrrell, Edward J. Hall, William Hall, Charles 
Keen, Robert Freeman. 

1858. Cornelius Hadden, James T. Crowell, Caleb C. Pierson, 

Nathaniel H. Tyrrell, Ephraim Martin. 

1859. Thomas Vernon, Henry M. Stone. 

i860. Cornelius White, James Gibson, Daniel Selover. 

1861. William Ray, Cornelius D. Selover, John M. Coutts, C. 

C. Pierson. 

1862. Isaac Harned, H. D. Tyrrell. 

1863. James H. Hart, James Davison. 

1864. E. H. Hall, William Ray, William Hall, C. D. Selover. 

1865. Jas. T. Crowell, H. D. Tyrrell, C. C. Pierson. 

1866. Charles Keen, Cornelius Hadden, James Gibson. 

1867. Win. Hall, Cornelius White, Charles Hunter. 

1868. H. D. Tyrrell, C. C. Pierson, T. S. Harris. 

1869. Charles Keen, Cornelius Hadden, Isaac Harned. 

1870. William Hall, I. S. Harned, H. V. Creemer. 

1 87 1. H. D. Tyrrell, C. C. Pierson. 

1872. S. G. Phillips, George H. Tice, Charles Keen, Joseph 


1873. S. Manning, William Hall, John H. Best, Alfred Wipple. 

1874. William B. Mount. 

1875. Charles Keen, Joseph Burns, George H. Tice. 

1876. William Hall, W. B. Mount, S. Manning, Fred A. Sea- 


1877. N. H. Tyrrell, F. A. Seaman. 

1878. Charles Keen, Samuel Hall. 

1879. J. J. Deitche, Win. Hall, Stelle Manning, Wm. B. 


1880. J. H. Vogel, N. H. Tyrrell, F. A. Seaman. 

1 88 1. Samuel Hall, J. J. Deitche, John R. Shay. 

1882. Wm. B. Mount, John R. Shay, J. H. Vogel, John G. 


1883. N. H. Tyrrell, F. A. Seaman. 

1884. J. J. Deitche, J. G. Martin. 

1885. Wm, B. Mount, John R. Shay, Wm. H. Hall. 

1886. N. H. Tyrrell, F. B. Morris. 

1887. J. G. Martin, J. J. Deitche. 

1888. W. B. Mount, John R. Shay.W. H. Hall, A. D. Brodhead. 

1889. N. H. Tyrrell, F, B. Morris. 

1890. J. J. Deitche, F. A. Seaman. 


1891. W. B. Mount, J. D. Shay, George Hadden. 

1892. F. B. Morris, N. H. Tyrrell, F. O. Pierson. 
l8 93- J- J- Deitche, F. A. Seaman, Adrian Lyon. 

1894. F. O. Pierson, W. H. Hall, Henry Petty. 

1895. F- B - Morris, A. Lyon. 

1896. F. A. Seaman, J. J. Deitche. 

1897. F- O. Pierson, H. Petty, W. H. Hall, W. James Lyle. 

1898. F. B. Morris, A. Lyon, Geo. E. Hadden. 

1899. Charles D. Snedeker, J.J. Deitche, Wilbur LaRoe. 

1900. C. Douglas Fraser, S. E. Shull, H. Petty, W. LaRoe, 
John H. Gregory. 

1 901. C. D. Fraser, C. D. Snedeker. 

1902. J. J. Deitche, J. H. Gregory. 


For many years a union school was held in the City Hall and 
later in the building at the southeast corner of High and Gor- 
don streets. In 1835 the Presbyterian Sabbath school was organ- 
ized and services were transferred to the church building. The 
superintendent was Miss Nancy Stewart, a sister-in-law of Ben- 
jamin Maurice, a coal, lumber and hay dealer, and for many 
years a trustee of the church. Miss Stewart died in 1845. 
Another lady followed Miss Stewart in this office, Miss Harriet 
Bruen, daughter of Matthias Bruen. She was afterward the 
wife of Bishop Whitehouse of Illinois. This tribute has been 
paid to her: "A most devoted and successful Sunday-school 
teacher, winning many to the love of Jesus." In 1876 the school 
numbered one hundred and fifteen scholars and fifteen officers and 

The present enrollment is: Officers and teachers, 37; scholars, 
437; Keasbey school officers and teachers 2, scholars, 58; total, 


The superintendents have been as follows: Miss Nancy Stew- 
art, Miss Harriet Bruen, Miss Eveline Brown, Richard K. Todd, 
Stephen G. Woodbridge, Daniel Selover, Dr. C. H. Schaps, 
Henry D. Tyrrell, Dr. Warren, D. Thomas Vernon, Henry D. 
Tyrrell, Rev. Aaron Peck, Cornelius Hadden, E. W. Barnes. 


Art. 1. This school shall be known as the Sab. School of the 
1 st Pres. Chh. of Perth Amboy. 
Art. 2. This school shall be subject to the control of the Pas- 


tor and his session whose duty it shall be to make or make pro- 
vision for all necessary appointments. 

Art. 3. The officers shall consist of first and second superin- 
tendents, librarian, secretary and treasurer who with the assist- 
ance of the teachers shall manage the affairs of the school. 

Art. 4. It will be expected of the teachers that they recog- 
nize the system of doctrines taught in the Pres. Ch. which are 
summarily expressed in the "Confession of Faith" and the 
"Westminster Catechism" which we as a Ch. adopt as containing 
the system of doctrines taught in the Holy Scriptures. 

Art. 5. As to the exercises of the school it shall be left to the 
discretion of the superintendents and teachers with the advise of 
the session to adopt such as in their judgment shall be most pro- 
motive of the best interests of the scholars, commencing and clos- 
ing always with prayer or singing. 


Very early in the history of the organization the cause of 
Home Missions interested the members. The first report that is 
found from this church in the Minutes of the General Assembly 
shows an annual contribution of two dollars and fifty cents for 
Domestic Missions. Eighty years ago on the first Sunday even- 
ing of each month a prayer and praise service, a Missionary con- 
cert in other words, was held and in i860 this service was 
changed from Sunday to Monday evening. The following in- 
teresting papers have been found. 

Cash taken from Missionary Box, Monday 4 June 1827: 

1 Gold piece $5-°° 

Silver & cents 4.50 


Perth Amboy 28 Sept. 1829. We the subscribers having 
counted over the Money in the Missionary box belonging to the 
Presbvterian Church of this place found it contained as follows: 

"Silver $8.60 

Amboy B'k Note 1.00 

Hoboken Manf'gCo., bad $1.00 

Cents 68 

Ten dollars 28-100 besides one dollar note Broken Bank sent 
Missionary N. Jersey Society by Mr. Wilson. 

James Harriott, 
Benj. Maurice. 


No permanent organization was made, however, until 1870 
when under the leadership of Mrs. Henrietta Manning, the 
Womans Foreign Missionary Society was formed. Mrs. Man- 
ning was the first president, Miss Virginia Griffith, secretary and 
Miss Olivia Seaman treasurer. A Harriet Newell Mission Band 
was at the same time organized among the young women of 
the church. This society did good work for ten years when it 
became only a name. 

In December 1881, the ladies of the church met at the house 
of Mrs. Alfred Compton for the re organization of the Missionary 
Society. Mrs. Edward W. Barnes, Sr., was elected president, 
Mrs. J. A. Hall, vice-president; Miss Phebe Hall, secretary and 
Mrs. Sarah Mitchell, treasurer. A constitution was adopted and 
the membership fee fixed at one dollar. This society was, how- 
ever, devoted exclusively to home mission work as is our present 
Home Missionary Society. Its meetings are held monthly, and 
money and gifts have not only been made t<-> the Board of Home 
Missions but to churches, schools and individuals in the West. 
Many boxes of clothing have been sent to pastors in the home 
mission field. 


The present Foreign Missionary Society was organized in 1889. 
A mass meeting was held at the parsonage on May 6 for that 
purpose when a constitution was adopted and the following 
officers elected: President, Mrs. W. H. Hall; vice-president, 
Mrs. J. H. Owens; secretary and treasurer, Oscar Arner. Among 
the missionaries directly aided have been Miss McGilvray, of 
Siam, and Miss Emma Morris of India. These have addressed 
the society from foreign lands: Rev. Mr. Ford. Persia, Yung 
Wing, Huie Kin and Rev. A. A. Fulton, China; Rev. Mr. Lopez, 
Chile; Rev. T. S. Pond and J. D. Chamberlain, D. D., South 
America; Miss Schenck, Persia; Misses Emma Morris and 
Brown and Mrs. Rev. C. A. Janvier, India; Dr. Irwin, Korea. 
Other speakers from out of town have been: Rev. Wilson 
Phraner, D. D., Rev. Mr. Davis, Elliott Field, Mrs. Stevenson, 
Mrs. John T. Kerr, Miss L. B. Allen, Rev. A. W.Halsey, D.D., 
and Miss Williams. 


Very early in our history the ladies sought ways and means by 
which they might aid in meeting the expenses of the church. In 
1 Sss there was a Ladies' Association which contributed $50 for 
painting the church. The present Mite Society dates from 1878. 


A meeting was held at the residence of William B. Mount on 
January 3 for the purpose of effecting an organization, its object 
being to "raise a parsonage fund for the Presbyterian Church, 
also to promote sociability among the congregation." The rec- 
ord of this first meeting is as follows: 

1. It was resolved to call the society the Mite Society. 

2. That the officers should consist of a president, vice-presi- 
dent, secretary and treasurer. 

On motion Mrs. E. R. Bulkley was elected president, Miss 
Amanda Wait vice-president, Miss Bessie Wait secretary and 
Mrs. William B. Mount, treasurer. 

3. Further resolved that any person ma}* become a member 
on the payment of twenty-five cents. 

4. That a collection be taken at each meeting; no contribu- 
tion to be less than five cents. 

5. That a meeting be held on Tuesday evening of each week, 

6. That a committee of four be appointed by the officers each 
week to arrange a program for the next meeting. 

7. That dancing and refreshments be prohibited. 

8. That meetings be held from 7.30 until ten o'clock. 

The next meeting was held at Mr. Bulkley' s residence on Jan- 
uary 15, and the program included music, recitations and tab- 
leaux. The report says, "the remainder of the evening was 
passed in playing games and singing college songs." So popu- 
lar were these socials that as many as one hundred persons have 
been in attendance at one time. In three months $48 had been 
collected. On May 1, an entertainment was held in the City 
Hall with the following program: 

Instrumental Solo Mrs. E. Mack 

Chorus O Hail Us, Ye Free 

Recitation F. A. Seaman 

Solo Miss Julia Arnold 

Instrumental Solo Miss I. L. Hall 

Tableau Rivoli Queens 

Recitation Miss G. P. Frazer 

Solo Miss A. H. Manning 


Instrumental Duett Miss and Mr. Kent 

Solo Miss A. B. Manning 

Instrumental Solo Miss I. L. Hall 

Pantomime The Mistletoe Bough 

Solo Miss Julia Arnold 

Recitation Miss G. P. Frazer 

Solo and Chorus Jubilate Deo 



Committees on the program: Tableaux— Mrs. Bulklev, Mrs. 
Mount, Miss Coutts and Mr. Raiguel. 

Acting— Miss Nannie Wait, Miss Ella Kent, Mr. Thornall 
and Mr. Crowell. 

The net proceeds were $45. 

It was soon discovered that refreshments were necessary .but at 
a meeting to be held at the residence of Dr. E. B. P. Kelley, these 
were restricted by vote to "cake, nuts, raisins, fruit and "lemon- 
ade." The membership the first year numbered fifty-eight; 
twenty-three being gentlemen. In August Capt. Cornelius White 
gave the society a sailing excursion to Coney Island. This ex- 
cursion was repeated the next year to Sandy Hook, but on re- 
turning in the evening the party "encountered a severe wind and 
rain storm and it was only through the careful seamanship of 
Capt. White and his crew that they reached their homes in 

At one of the annual meetings the "young folks occupied one 
room in which they hugely enjoyed the game of 'Blind Man's 
Buff.' ' In 1882 a fair was held in the City Hall. That year 
the money of the society was changed from a parsonage to a Sab- 
bath school building fund. In 1883 another fair was held and 
$145 realized which amount was used in buying a carpet for the 
church. Thus in various ways and in all seasons during these 
twenty-five years this society has benefited the church and con- 
tinues with strength unabated. 


Was formed in 1901 for the purpose of raising funds for the 
new church. Two bazars were held at which large amounts 
were secured. 


This society is now sixteen years old, having been organized 
in 1886. Its first president was John J. Deitche and secretary 
Miss Meribah Roe. It began with thirteen active and three as- 
sociate members. The early records have been lost but from a 
topic card of 1887 we have the names of the following leaders for 
the first quarter — January to April: W. Hall, Rev. J. H. Owens, 
J. J. Deitche, A. D. Brodhead, E. J. Hadden, John G. Martin 
and E. W. Barnes. 



A society among the children was organized in 1891 by Misses 
Ella Lyon and Grace Thompson and Mrs. W. H. Hall. This 
became moribund in 1889, but was revived in 1900 by Robert 
M. Comings and is now, under the superintendency of Mrs. Adrian 
Lyon and Mrs. Wilbur LaRoe, a large and busy band of Juniors. 


is composed of members of the Sabbath School between the ages 
of ten and eighteen years. It was organized November, 1900. 
In the summer of 1901 it made an excursion to New York City 
and Governor's Island, at which place a reception was given by 
Major General John R. Brooke. 


Pastor: Harlan G. Mendenhall, D. D. 

Elders: Caleb C. Piersou, treasurer; Edward W. Barnes, 
Philip Gibson, Samuel E. Shull, Adrian Lyon, clerk. 

Trustees: Charles D. Snedeker, president; Wilbur LaRoe, 
secretary; Samuel E. Shull, treasurer; Henry Petty, John H. 
Gregory, John J. Deitche, C. Douglas Fraser. 


Superintendent, Edward W. Barnes, Assistant Superintendent, 
Adrian Lyon, Secretary, Miss Emma Mac William; Libraiian, 
Harry Comings. 

Senior Department — Superintendent, Adrian Lyon; Assistant 
Superintendent, Wilbur LaRoe; Secretarv, Ravmond Comings. 
Teachers: Mrs. E. W. Barnes, S. E. Shull, Mrs. Dr. Tyrrell, 
Miss Anna Skea, Wilbur LaRoe, Adrian Lyon, Rev. R. White, 
Miss Grace Hawk, W. H. Henry, Miss Frances E. Kent. 

Intermediate Department — Superintendent, John J. Deitche; 
Assistant Superintendent, Edward R. Proctor; Secretary, Miss 
Anna McCylmont. Teachers: Mrs. H. Petty, John Frederick- 
son, Mrs. Frances J. B. Kelley, Ernest Hancock, Miss Ella Kent, E. 
E. Hill, Miss L. Gillis, Mrs". Theo. Bloodgood, J. H. Gregory, 
Mrs. L. Hancock, G. P. Gabriel, Charles K. Stevens, Miss 
Marion Owens. 

Junior Department — Superintendent, Miss Louise Ramsay; Sec- 
retary, Miss Carrie Morris. 

Primary Department —Superintendent, Mrs. Adele M. Steven- 
son; Assistant Superintendent, Mrs. H. P. Herbert; Secretary, 
Miss Ella Deitche. 


Beginners' Department— Superintendent, Miss Hortense Rock; 
Secretary, Miss Bessie Barnes. 

Keasbey Sabbath School — Superintendent, Miss Maggie Mc- 
Clymont; Secretary, Miss Rose Lewis. 


President, Mrs. Adrian Lyon; Vice Presidents, Mrs. A. C. 
Mount, Mrs. S. E. Shull; Secretary, Mrs. E. A. Bloodgood; 
Treasurer, Mrs. James Lupton; Secretary of Literature, Mrs M 
F. McConnell. 


President, Miss A. E. VanNuis; Vice-Presidents, Mrs. W. H. 
Hall, Mrs. E. W. Barnes; Editors Meteor, Mrs. T. C. Dillon, 
Miss Louise Ramsay; Secretary, Mrs. Dr. G. W. Tyrrell; Treas- 
urer, Mrs. S. Riddlestorffer; Secretary of Literature, Miss Edith 
Sofield; Chairman Finance Committee, Mrs. S. Comings; Assist- 
ants, Miss Grace Hawk, Mrs. W. W. Henry. 


President, Mrs. Emma Compton; Vice-President, Mrs. H. P. 
Halpin; Secretary, Mrs. Amelia Hadden; Treasurer, Mrs. Amelia 
Mount; Work Directress, Mrs. S. Comings. 

ladies' auxiliary. 
President. Mrs. E. W. Barnes; Vice-President, Mrs.S. J. Ram- 
say; Secretary, Miss Emma Mac William; Treasurer, Mrs S E 

Y. P. S. C. E. 

President, Wilbur LaRoe; Vice-President, Adrian Lyon; Sec- 
retary, C. Douglas Fraser; Corresponding Secretary, Miss 
Frances E. Kent; Treasurer, Miss Laura Steele. 


President, Walter Comings; Vice-President, Clementine Lewis; 
Secretary, Wilbur LaRoe, Jr. ; Treasurer, Jetta Stacey . 


Captain, John Danner. 




Mrs. E. W. Barnes. 


William W Henry, Raymond Comings, John Sofidd, Charles 
Barnekov, Virgil Shull, William Graham, Charles Rossi. 


John Frederickson. 




Angus, John 
Angus, Margaretta 
Clark, Margaret 
Coddington, Elizabeth 
Harriot, Phebe 
Friend, Rachel 
Lewis, John 
Wait, David 
Thomson, Susanna 

Harriot, James 
Butler, Elizabeth 
Oliver, Elsy 
Runnion, Phebe 
Griggs, Thomas 
Lewis, Seviah 
Griggs, Anna 
Ay res, Anna 
Ayres, Abraham 

Jenkins, Benjamin 

Seaman, Letitia (Thomas) 
Northall, Mary 
Manning, Phineas 
Sullivan, Daniel 
Munday, Levi 
Mundav, Catharine 

Bender, George C. 
Bender, Christiana 
Edgar, James 

Leonard, Margaret (Battes) 
Randolph, Mary 
Acken, Phebe 
Wait, Margaret 
Semple, Alexander 
Semple, Mary 
Bloodgood, Doziah 
Tappen, Mrs. 

Barton. Rebekah 
Compton, Abigal (Lewis) 

Flood, Mary 

Drake, Simeon 

Moore, Mary 

Maurice, Margaret (Benj.) 
Ford, Margaret Mrs. 
Ford, Sarah (William) 

Angus, Susan R. 
Ford, Samuel R. 


Young, Sarah (John) 
Wait, Ann (Joseph) 
Geldbreith, Margaret 
Semple, Ann 
Simpson, Elizabeth 
Bender, Johannes 
Wait, Elizabeth (John) 
Ford, Grace (Charles) 
Griggs, Susan 
LaTourette, Mary A. 
Ay res, Thomas 
Pembleton, Lettice 
Coddington, Jemima 

LaTourette, Hannah (Daniel) 
Crowell, Rebecca (David) 
Baisley, John 
Field, Rosetta 
Dunham, Clarkson 
Dunham, Margaret (Clarkson) 
Tyrrell, Esther (Elias) 
Bender, Mary (John) 
Lewis, Mary 
Ford, Charles 
Simpson, John 
Teller, Fanny (Samuel) 

Crawford, Clarissa (John) 
Crawford, John 
Morehouse, Hannah 
Vantine, Mary 

Pike, Mary 
Bloodgood, Margaret 
Ledger, Eleanor 
Lamb, Maria A. 

Kinsey, Mary 

Freeman, Clarissa (Linus) 
Noe, Elizabeth (Benjamin) 

Conover, Margaret (James) 
Edgar, Eliza N. (James) 
Aulick, Mary F. (John H.) 
LaTourette, Susan 
Ford, Jane (Charles) 
White, Elizabeth B. (Charles) 
Harriot, Sarah (Samuel) 
Benson, Ann 
Ogden, Augustus, O. B. 
White, Sarah (Cornelius) 
Thornell, Benjamin S. 
Thornell, Tabitha (Benj. S.) 
Ogden, Mary (Oliver) 
Patrick, Mary A. (John) 
Butler, Ann (Jonathan) 
Butler, Jonathan 
LaTourette, Hannah (Daniel) 

Noe, Mordecai 

Hampton, Mary 
Hampton, Frances 
Johnson, Hannah (James) 
Martin, Catharine (Jeremiah) 

Ford, Edwin 
Ford, Sarah J. (Edwin) 
McComb, Eliza (Joseph B. ) 
Young, Lavinia 
Brown, Evelina 
Mundy. Lucy 
Vanderhoven, Maria (Elkaneh) 

Maurice, Benjamin 
Wheaton, Mary A. 
Shaw, Anna M_. 
Langstaff, Hannah 
Bloodgood, Lydia (Abram) 
Hilliker, Arnold 




Wood, Mary (Joseph B. ) 

Morehouse, Elizabeth (Ogden) 

Munday, Zadok 

Munday, Rachel (Zadok) 

Stewart, Nancy 

Moore, Mary 

Calhoun, William 

Calhoun, Mary (William) 

McCormick, Sarah (Patrick) 

Compton, Eliza 

Bloodgood, Catharine 

Skillman, Margaret 

Hampton, Nancy 

Seaman, Ann (Anthony) 

Crowell, Hannah (Joseph) 

Bloodgood, Martha 

Hampton, George 

VanBoekel, Harriet (A. J. ) 

Oilman, Reynolds 

Gilman, Elizabeth (Reynolds) 

Miller, Emily 

See, John D. 

Ford, James 

Langstaff, Catharine 

Martin, Elizabeth 

Ford, Mary A. (Samuel R. ) 

Redfield, Maria (George F. ) 

Hull, Eliza, (Benjamin) 

Compton, Susan 

Coutts, Frances (George) 

Harriot, Elizabeth A. 

Cutter, Phebe 


Reader, Elizabeth (William) 

Keene, Christiana (Charles) 

Newton, Euphemia 

Hilliker, Sabia ( Arnold ) 

Thorp, Eliza 

Cory, Maria, Mrs. 

Reader, Mary A. (Charles A.) 

Woodbridge, Samuel E. 
Bruen, Matthias 
Cory, Mary M. (ReY. Benj'm) 
Halsey, Elizabeth P. (ReY. Job) 

Pratt, Nancy (Benjamin) 
SeloYer, Elizabeth (Daniel) 
Selover, Mary 
Selover, Elizabeth 
SeloYer, Cornelius D. 
Selover, Gertrude (Cornelius) 
Wood, Jane 
Langstaff, Elizabeth 
Hull, Rachel R. 
Selover, Margaret H. 
Selover, John V. 
Langstaff, Hannah 
Selover, Daniel Sen'r 
Woodbridge, Elizabeth G. 
Martin, Mercy (Kemble) 
Vanderhoven, Jane A. 
Cossit, Parmelia M. 
Selover, Daniel 
Selover, Elizabeth ( Daniel ) 
Bloodgood, Martha 
Todd, Richard K. 

Selover, Peter V. 
Selover, James D. 
Selover, Catharine E. (Jas. D. ) 
English, Thomas 
Larkin, Sally, Mrs. 
Lewis, Margaret A. (Jacob) 
Andrews, Solomon, Dr. 
Andrews, Harriet (Solomon) 

Maurice, Cornelia F. (Chas. ) 
Anderson. Mary 
Maurice, Charles F. 
Mullen, Martha 




Hadden, Sarah (Jacob) 
Johnson, Franklin 
Johnson, Rizpeh (Franklin) 
English, Nancy (James) 

Tyrrell, Rebecca, Mrs. 
Vanderbilt, Mary, Mrs. 

Wait, Jane (David T.) 

Rail, Mary J. (Albert) 
Tyrrell, Nathan 
Crowell, David 
Westervelt, Mary J. (Daniel) 
Sneath, Eleanor (John H.) 
Sofield, Mrs. (Runyon) 
Kedey, James 
Woodbridge, Stephen G. 
Manderville, Benoni 
Manderville, Mrs. Benoni 

Vandoren, Caroline 
Arnold, Benjamin 
Martin, Ann E. (Ephraim) 
Tyrrell, Mary E. (Nathan) 

Johnson, Joel 
Johnson, Sally (Joel) 
McLaughlin, Julia D., Mrs. 
Coon, Martha, Mrs. 
Tyrrell, Henry D. 
Tyrrell, Sarah (Henry D. ) 
Laforge, William 
Laforge. Catharine (Wm.) 
Andrews, William 

Halsey, Mrs. (Rev. Luther) 
Gulick, Luther H. 
Gilman, Sarah 
Laforge, Cecelia 
Dick, John 

Morse, Dr. Lucius D. 
Morse, R. I. (Lucius D.) 
Tyrrell, Nancy (Rufus) 
Seguine, Harriet (James) 
Shotwell, Wm. B. 
Schaps, Dr. C. H. 
Schaps, Jane S. 
Schaps, Elizabeth 
Martin, Cornelia 
Martin, Luther J. 
Bloodgood, Doziah (William) 

Raymond, Amaranth H. (I.) 
Annin, John A. 
Andrews, Cornelia 
Woodbridge, Sarah (Steph. G. ) 
Raymond, Fanny, Mrs. 
Gibson, James 
Gibson, Marv (James) 
See, John D." 
See, Susan (John D. ) 
See, Anna Maria 
Snedeker, Mary Jane 
Larken, Lydia, Mrs. 

See, Thomas G. 
Masker, Aaron 
Masker, Phebe (Aaron) 
Bird, Mary Ann (Charles) 
Arburthnot, Jane A. (Steph.) 
Hart, Catharine R. (Henry J. ) 

Goodman, Martha A. (Geo. W. ) 
Ford, Margaret J. 
VanBoekle, Susan 
Selover, Mary H. 
Jacobie, John 
Jacobie, Mary (John) 
Pierson, Caleb C. 
Pierson, Dellah (Caleb C. ) 
Selover, Gertrude G. (Dan'll.) 

8 4 


I 85 I 

Park, Jane 
Vandoren, Abram 
White, Sarah (Cornelius) 
Noe, Harriet, (Marsh) 

Hall, Mary (Edward) 
Wait, Emma (James) 
Newman, Charles 
Adams, John 
Adams, Emily C. (John) 
Bradner, Mary J. 
Brown, Mary L. 
Brown, Hannah M. 

Mathews, I. H., Mrs. 
Compton, Emma (Alfred) 
Brown, Isaac M. 
Mundy, Peter 
Scott, James 
Crawford, Margaret 
Wheeler, Horatio T. 
Woodbridge, Mary (Sam'l E. ) 
Boeram, Abigail A. (James) 

Selover, Cornelia G. 
Measker, Joanna M. 

Davidson, Adelia S. (John) 
Bloodgood, Catharine (Wm. ) 
Bonham, Mary L,. C. (Lucius) 
Freeman. Robert 
Freeman, Susan (Robert) 
Hadden, Mary B. 
Hadden, Sarah 
Hadden, Cornelius 
Martin, Sarah A. (Moses) 
Wait, Mary Amanda 
Cory, Julia M. 
Cory, Jane W. 
Cory, Mary E. 
Ford, Jeannette 

Woglom, Margaret (Israel) 

Bloodgood, Elizabeth 

Selover, Isaac K. 

Selover, Margaret A. 

Selover, David V. 

Selover, Harriet A. (David V.) 

Selover, Elizabeth 

Selover, Benjamin C. 

Seaman, Mary E. 

Seaman, Robert 

Wood, MaryE. 

Wood, John 

Ford, Eliza H. 

Ford, Sarah F. 

Selover, William U. 

Masker, William A. 

Gibson, Philip 

Gibson, Margaret 

Hubbard, Voorhees 

Johnson, Alida (Edgar) 

Murray, Ann 

Tryner, Geo. F. 

Hall, William 

Hall, Charlotte ( William ) 

Seaman, Olivia 

Still well, Hannah E. 

Bloodgood, Lydia (Abram) 

Wilson, Dawson 

Wilson, Jane F. (Dawson) 

Robinson, James C. 

Robinson, Susan (J as. C. ) 

Robinson, Amanda 

Robinson, Eleanor H. 

Robinson, Harriet K. 
Crowell, Sarah E. (Edward) 
Bloodgood, Josephine 

Hoey, Mary (John) 
Hoey, Nancy 

Rhinehart, Eliza (Abraham) 
Jacobie, John 
Jacobie, Mary (John) 




Backias, Anna 

Adams, Elizabeth M. 

Adams, Emily V. 

Rnss, Sarah M. (George) 

White, Mary (Cornelius) 

Ford, Sarah R. 

Hadden, Mary E. (Cornelius) 

Zellers, Samuel 

Dudley, Julius 

Beauer, Christian 

Beauer, Dorothy ( Christian ) 

Beauer, Lena 

Tyrrell, Margaret (Elias) 
Robinson, Charles M. 

Gibson, Philip 
Selover, David V. 

Lyon, Margaret E. (Jacob) 
Selover, James D. 
Selover, Catharine (Jas. D. ) 
Selover, Mary H. 
Wallace, Mary S. (Rev. C. C. ] 
Selover, Gertrude E. 
Davidson, Martha (James) 
Page, Jane H. (Thomas D. ) 
Stevens, John W. 
Stevens, Mary A. (John W. ) 

Weston, Elizabeth C. (E. C. ) 
Russ, Joseph C. 
Gibson, Mary E. 
Gibson, James F. 
Gibson, Sarah A. 
Palmer, Joseph W. 
Palmer, Nancy (Joseph W.) 
Coutts, Jeannie Amelia 
Hunter, Carrie M. (Charles) 
Hart, Henrv J. 
Hall, Ella j'ane 

Myers, William D. 

Chester, Edwin S. 

Mowry, Bernard, R. O. 

Martin, Cornelia 

Laforge, Sarah A. 

Kline, Henrietta A. (Myndart) 

Russ, George H. 

Woodbridge, Mary E. 

Harned, Isaac S. 

Laforge, Nathaniel T. 

Bashford, Sarah (David) 

Harris, Thompson S. 

Ray, Elizabeth S. (William) 

Crowell, Sarah Frances 

Hall, Agnes Adelia 

Willis, Zibiah H. 


Webb, Abby 
Martin, Nancy 
Garretson, Cornelia D. 
Davidson, James 
Davidson, Martha 


Tenbroeck, Mary 
Laforge, Henrietta 


David, Julia 
Kingsbury, Mary A. 
Kingsbury, Mary 
David, Caroline 
Dunham, Elizabeth 
Hull, Sarah M. 
Barnes, Elizabeth W. (J. E. ) 
Hurlburt, Catharine R. 
VanDoren, Abigail 
McCrea, James A. 
McCrea, Jane 
Woodbridge, Samuel E. 
Woodbridge, Luther D. 
Barnes, Edward W. 




Hunter, Mary I. 
Elliott, Walter E. 
Kent, Mary E. (Oscar) 
Williams, M. L. (Joseph) 


Pugsley, Henry D. 

Burns, Margaret G. (Joseph) 

Tice, Mary A. (G. H.) 

Hanson, Christian 

Tyrrell, Eeah A. 

Tyrrell, Moses H. 

Barnes, D. D., Rev. Stephen G. 
Hadden, Amelia D. (Cornelius) 
Burns, James W. 

Hall, Jane 
Hall, Eliza 
Hall, Helen 
Griffin, Eliza 


Mount, Amelia C. (W. B. ) 
Peck, Julia (Rev. Aaron) 
Selover, Ann (A. M. K. ) 
Smith, Ellen M. 
Shay, Elizabeth (John) 
Manning, Stelle 
Manning, Henrietta 
Coddington, William R. 
Coddington, Emma F. 
Hope, Emeline 
Ker, Phebe 

Smith, M. D., Samuel St. J. 
Griffith, Virginia 
Moore, Margaret 
Harned, Ann (Isaac) 
Walters, Charles L,' 

Manning, William 
Manning, Annie C. 
Stevenson, Adele E. (Rev. D.) 
Bent, W. C. 
Davidson, Alice (James) 
Sharrot, Mary A. 
Cramer, Herman V. 
Baldwin, H. (Robert) 

Whittle, Alfred E. 
Hull, Margaret 
Hughes, Rachel F. 
Hall, Julia A. (Samuel) 
Parsels, Phebe 

Campbell, John 
Rhodes, Hattie F. (G. N. ) 
Whittle, Sarah (A. E.) 

McQueen, Mary H. 
Tice, George H. 
Boswell, Mary S. (N. L. ) 
Morris, Sarah 
Morris, Eydia J. (John) 
Wait, Annie F. 
Crowell, Edith B. 
Tracy, Mary W. (Andrew) 
Schoch, Louisa 
Seaman, Frederick A. 
Seaman, Anna M. (F. A. ) 
Dayton, Mary E. (Herbert) 
Hall, William H. 
Shipman, Ann E. 
Kent, Fannie E. 
Kent, Mary Ella 
Garrison, Ida L. 
Pape, Josephine (Henry) 
Crowell, AdeliaH. (James) 
Thompson, Caroline B. (John ) 

Kelley, F. J. B. (Dr. E. B. P.) 




Meares, Henrietta 
Herbert, Sarah 
Kipp, Margaret 
Barnes, Idelette (E. W.) 
Slaght, Sarah (W. A.) 
Bnlkley, Sylvania (E. J.) 
Kipp, Sarah 

Greacen, Hester A. 
Hall, Mary A. 

Van Home, Elizabeth J. 
Thornall, Isabella S. 
Best, Mary E. 
Young, Mrs. Mary E. (S.C. 

Rathbun, Sarah M. (J. G. ) 
Martin, Elvira J. 
Cline, Eva K. 
Aeken, Crowell L. 
Hadden, Edward J. 
Mitchell, Sarah B. 
Mitchell, Bertha M. 
Watson, Georgia (John) 
Shay, Ira D. 
Moessner, George V. 
Moessner, Kunigunde 
Deitche, John J. 
Deitche, Bella H. 
Apgar, David K. 
Apgar, Anna M. 
Apgar, Theodore R. 
Apgar, Melvina A. 
Moessner, Louisa K. 
Brodhead, Andrew D. 
Brown, Lulu E. 
Dunne, Jean M. 
Mills, George E. 
Ferguson, Eliza B. (J. M.) 
Tyrrell, Mary E. (J. C. ) 
Herbert, Margaret 
Johnson, Alice A. 

Wait, Bessie H. 

Govern, Eliza B. (J. M.) 

Boswell, Elizabeth (H. L. ) 

Leaser, Man- J. 

Barnes, Henry R. 

Manning, Jennie F. 

Arnold, Annie E. 

Cluney, Jennie 

Afflerbach, Emma P. (Jos.) 

Coleman, Josephine W. 

Brodhead, Margaret L. 


Wainwright,MaryE. (Matthew) 

Vogel, John H. 

Vogel, Anna M. 

Bain, Mary J. (Hugh L. ) 

Martin, Mary E. 

Leaser, Ella 

Coyle, Hannah 

Murray, Margaret 

Sanford, Jerusha ( Elam ) 
Rathbun, John G. 
Todd, Meaora 
Bentley, Frances I. (W. B. ) 

Carr, Emilv P. 
Thoden, Julia S. 


Compton, Emma (J. L. ) 
Peters, Samuel K. 
Hadden, Nellie C. 
Druckenmiller, Franklin L. 
Druckenmiller. Anna N. 
Peters, Helen E. 
Hance, Joseph S. 
Malcolm, Mary 
Malcolm, Alberta 



Ramsay, Hugh 

Ramsay, Sarah J. 

Crowell, Eunice E.( Alfred) 

Harris, Sarah E. (Rev. Oscar) 

Murray, Belle 

Hall, Phebe P. 

Thomas, Sarah K. 

Mackenzie, Anna 

Thompson, Grace E. 

Truax, Mary E. (Rev. W. 

Welles, Mary E. 
Dunning, Ellen M. 
Bryant, Mary 
Barnes, James W. 
Morrison, Ellen J. 
Henderson, John 
Henderson, Mrs. J. 

Coons, Hannah B. 
Williamson, Anna J. 
Mac William, Ann 
Chandler, S. F. 
Mac William, John 

Savage, Letitia W. 
Gray, Mary (William) 
McConnell, Louise J. 
Morris, Frank B. 
Morris, Mrs. 
Morris, Emma 
Morris, Mary 

Miller, Mary (Joseph) 
Mertz, Ella (Theodore) 
Craswell, Amelia M. 
Hill, Nellie C. (E. E.) 
Sofield, Alice E. 
Mac William, Eliza B. 
Craswell, Henry 
Thornton, Mary 
McClymont, David 

Smith, Clarinda C. 
Thornall, Jennie (William) 
Transue, Martha (Silas) 
English, Agnes A. 
Hall, Lizzie P. (Chas. H.) 
Roe, Meribah R. 
Mount, William B. 
Hall, Amelia A. 
Hall, Cora P. 
Hadden, Addie (Geo.E.) 
Petty, Mary A. (Henry) 
McClymont, Margaret 
Van horn, John 
Shay, Elizabeth 
Hoagland, Isaac 
Hoagland, Agnes 
Lanson, Elija 
Martin, Alice 
Satter, Hans P. 
Crisman, Ella G. 
Tyrrell, Nathaniel H. 
Tyrrell, Mary A. (N. H. ) 

Palmer, Nettie L. 
Stacey, Jennie E. ( W. T. ) 
Ford, Mary E. 
Jones, Edith (Charles) 
Kinney, Mary B. (C. W.) 
Owens, John 
Owens, Catharine 
Monroe, Mathilda E. 
Everett, Caddie D. (Dr. S. R. ) 
Gregory, John H. 
Gregory, Ella A. 
Mac William, Mary Emma 
Comings, Ella C. 
Comings, Robert M. 
Fraser, Susan (William) 
Knudson, Mary W. (John) 
Gillis, Alexander 
Gillis, Annie 
Lyon, William 
Lyon, Ursula 
Lvon, Ella S. 


8 9 

Lyon, Adrian 

Marbach, Maggie L. (John) 
Will, Jennie F. (Otto) 
Hohnquist, B. B. V. 
Buhrer, Andrew 
Buhrer, Mary A. 
Fraser, Anna C. 
Frandsen, Joanna K. 

Ryder, Inez E. (Daniel) 
Walters, Alice M. 
Sofield, Laura A. (John) 
Henry, Emily A. (W. W.) 
Arner, Oscar 

Comings, Sarah (George) 
Slaght, William R. 
Douglass, Jessie (Frank) 
Satter, Christina (Hans P. ) 
Burns, Tillie A. (Joseph G. ) 
Sellect, Ethelbert H. 
Henry, John A. 
Hall, Ada (William H. ) 
Curl, Nellie M. 
Buel, Walter F. 
Buel, Arthur 
Stephenson, Alexander 
Fraser, C. Douglas 
LaRoe, Wilbur 
LaRoe, Araminta 
Hahn, William H. 
Martin, Jacob L. 
Martin, Fannie 

Lacey, George H. 
Lacey, Mary W. 
Cluuey, Charles 
Johnson, Charles 
Woglom, Laura A. 
Curry, Stella 
Field, Rose (T. U.) 
Ramsay, Isabelle L. 

Mount, Antoinette 
Johnson, Johanna (John) 
Johnson, Emma L. 
Hadden, George E. 
Talbot, Charles H. 
Gabriel, George P. 
Jyrgensen, Jeppe 
McComb, Mary C. (William) 
Becker, Henry E. 
Becker, Kate 
Sortore, Fred J. 
Martin, Joseph J. 
Hoagland, Louis M. 
Brose, Anthony F. 
Clark, Sallie F. 
Fetter, Margaret C. 
Grimstead, Edna B. 
Grimstead, Frank 
Grimstead, Ida 
Phillips, Maggie E. (J. C.) 
Pape, Augusta (Ernest) 
Boughton. Sarah 
McGregor, Margaret E. 


Rauch, James M. 




Charles S. 




Tuttle, Mary 


Charles D. 

Ford, Herbert 


Frederick 0. 

Farrington, Augusta M 


Mary F. 

Fredericksen , John 


, Oliver W. 

Fredericksen, John Jr. 


Hugh A. 

Tyrrell, Van vert H. 


William R. 

Mac William, Charles M 


Sarah K. 

Harper, Blake 

9 o 


Wait, Mary E. 

Lewis, Mattie W. (Cicero) 

Fredericksen, George 

Schlapper, Conrad 

Fan\ Hattie (A.G.) 

Johnson, Agnes Stella 

McClymont, Maggie 

McClymont, Anna 

Hughes, Daisy E- (Lambert) 

Fraser, Edwin G. 

Mallett, Frederick 

Comings, Worthington G. 

Rudder, Ida M. 

Owens, John C. B. 

Henry, William W. 

Hoagland, George K. 

Neer, Eva Belle (Frank) 

Gall, William 

Lyle, William J. 

Everett, Stacey R. 

Gray, William G. 

Petty, Henry 

Gardell, John M. 

Acken, Crowell L. 

Acken, Mary E. 

Halpin, Hattie P. (John) 

Rick, E. W. 

Rick, Mrs. 

Waters, Christina C. 

Walters, Carl Louis 

Richters, Georgiana G. 

Conard, Elsie (Harry) 

Richters, Edna 

Oberholtzer, Henry L- 

Rice, Jeannette L. (Rev. W.A. 

Brown, Evelyn C. 

Mills, Richard 

Snyder, Mrs. 

Snyder, A. F. 

Richters, Percy 

VanNuis, Amanda E. 

Parsons, Lucy A. 

Proctor, Edward R. 

Christiansen, Matthias C. 
Christiansen, Anna 
Rick wood, William 
Rick wood, Elizabeth 
Shepherd, Theresa 
White, Estelle 
Trueman, Thomas 
Trueman, Ellen 
Caspar, Gideon 
Porter, Chastina A. 
Duryea, Daisy P. 
Brown, Nina M. 
Mullen, Anna R. (A. W. ) 
David, Charles W. 
Herrmann, Helen (F. R.) 
Graham, Bessie M. (Wm.) 
Sofield, Agnes B. 
Sofield, Edith L. 
Campbell, Lizzie 
Quick, Bertha L- 
Trafton, Alberta M. (George) 
Rodecker, Mary M. 
Woodcock, Julia S. (Geo.) 
Gillis, Clifford 
Dillon, Henry A. 
Gillis, Laura A. 
Brown, Sarah (John) 
Laing, Annie M. 
Compton, Elizabeth 
Hamed, Margaret (C. W.) 
Taylor, Joseph F. 
Skillman, John C. 
Skillman, Mary H. 
Caldicott, George E. 
) Kiehl, Eliza 
Irving, Mabel 
Fraser, Mary A. 
Hall, Lillian E. (Brewer) 
Graves, Virginia 
Proctor, Carlton W. 
Mc Murray, William J. 
Fraser, Hattie L. 
O'Brien, William 



Caldicott, Clement 
Dunn, Joanna M. 


Herrman, Frederick R. 
Smith, Bella G. (H. Q.) 
VanDusen, vSarah O. (Chas. ) 
Campbell, William M. 
VanDyke, Mary S. (Rev. G.B 
Fritts, Annie M. 
Fredericksen, Peter 
Hall, Cora P. 
Wait, Amanda M. 
Sortore, EmmaL. (Fred) 
Llewellyn Jeanette ( Wm. ) 
Hesser, Charles H. 
Hesser, A. B. 
Hughes, Margaret H. 
Lupton James W. 
Lupton, Laura R. 
Han, Sam 

Field, Thomas U. 
Hall, William G. 
Snedeker, Charles D. 
Snecleker, Mary 
Meshrow, Alice ( W. H. ) 
Stevenson, Frank G. 
Stevenson, Mary A. 
Mason, Samuel 
McMurray, Maria G. (W. J.) 
VanHouten, William 
VanHouten, Aletta L. 
VanHouten, Fred S. 
Ramsay, M. D., William A. 
Laing, Rachel (Reuben) 
Laing, Raymond M. 
Tyrrell, Rose N. (Dr. George) 
Hornbeck, Bertha 
Lyon, Cornelia P. (Adrian) 
Shull, Samuel E. 
Shull, Laura C. 
VanHouten, Emma J. 

VanHouten, Marv L- 
Stirling, J. L. (C. B. ) 

Shirley, Sarah E. (D. A.) 
Burns, Margaret 
Fredericksen, John 
Klipp, Magdalene (George) 
x Klipp, Lilly M. 
Hoagland, Charles P. 
Hancock, Llewellyn 
Hancock, Priscilla 
Dwyer, Maud 
Gibson, Philip 
Gibson, Elizabeth G. 
Henricksen, Albert T. 
Snyder, Phebe A. (A. T. ) 
Gibbons, Emma 
Stemetz, Carrie C. 
Lyle, William J. 
Lyle, Emma S. 

Shirley, Samuel A. 
Hawk, Grace 

Bloodgood, Erne A. (Theodore) 
Brainard, Adeline (William A.) 
Crouse, Laura (Ira R.) 
Starr, Mary L. F. 
Rue, Jane S. 
Enbody, Sadie C. (Harry S.) 

Martin, William H. 
Martin, Marv G. 
Bechtel, Martha (R. G.) 
Tappen, Nettie O. (A. J.) 
Stevens, Charles K. 
Stevens, Jessie M. 
Fredericksen, Anna E. (Peter) 

Hornbeck, Mary E. 
Fredericksen, Juliet E. (John) 
Jensen, M. J. 
Hancock, Lewellvn Ernest H. 



Fraser. Margaret (C. Douglas) 

Smith, Henry 

Stevenson, Adele M. (Mrs. Rev.) 

Frost, Mabel E. (Robert E.) 

Worrell, Florence 

Kirk wood, Harry J. 


Proctor, Edward R. 

Proctor, Margaret 

Lydiard, Wilhelmina (E. L. ) 

Comings, Robert M. 

Deitche, Ella M. 

Owens, Marion 

Crowell, Edith H. 

Hoppock, Minnie S. (Peter A.) 

Kleinhans, Edgar H. 

Kleinhans, Mrs. 

Ramsay, Ella F. 

Stacey, Edith E. 

Seaman, Elizabeth 

Comings, Walter W. 

Comings, Harry Everett 

Compton, Lola B. 

Barnes, Bessie L. 

Olsen, Peder, Jr. 

Thornall, Isabel S. 

Straub, Bertha (Lee) 

Richard, Bella (Fred) 


Hill, Ernest Edward 
Clark, Edward 
Clark, Mrs. 
Richard, Fred 
Hanson, Florence 
fanning, Raymond V. 
LaRoe, Wilbur, Jr. 
Smith John A. 
Smith, Mina 

Deitche, Augustus 
Anderson, Earnest 
Young, Alvah C. 
Young, Elizabeth 
Straub, C. Dee 
Barnekov, Charles W. 
Barnekov, Emma 
Barnes, Edward H. 
Hadden, Amelia D. (Cornelius) 
Riddlestorffer, Sidney 
Riddlestorffer, Lillie May 
Cranston, Irving L. 
Cranston, Anna E. 
Peterson. Jennie 
Janderup, Annie 
Lewis, Rose E. 
Murdoch, William 
Murdoch, Mrs. G. 
Stafford, Helen (Dr. James) 
Metz, Catharine M. 


Hancock, Ruth W. 
Morris, Carrie 
Hansen, Christian C. 
Hansen, Hans M. K. 
Hansen, Mary E. 
Osman, William F. 
Torberg, Howard N. 
Johnson, Christine 
Hoffman, Minnie B. 
Binder, Harry J. 
Binder, Sarah 
Osman, Laura (W. F. ) 
Stainsby, Helena 
Smith, Catharine (HansS.) 
Peets, Harry G. 
Petersen, Andrew G. 
Petersen, Josephine 
Petersen, John G. 


Page 72. — H. V. Cramer for H. V. Creemer. 

Alfred E. Whittle for Alfred Wipple. 

Page 73— J- R- Shay for J. D. Shay. 

Page 75. — Mrs. Elizabeth W. Barnes for Mrs. Edward W. 
Barnes, Sr. 

Page 83. — Pierson, Delilah for Pierson, Dellah (1850) 

Page 86.— Add (George A.) to Shipman, Ann E. (1874) 


a n d 

Held January 25 to February i f 1903 


10.30 A. M. 

H)e5ication of Cburcb. 

Organ Prelude 


Invocation and Lord's Prayer 


Responsive Reading 

Pastor — The Lord is in His holy temple; let all the earth keep silence before Him. 

People— From the rising of the sun unto the going down of the same the Lord's name is 
to be praised. 

Pastor Return, O Lord, how long? And let it repent Thee, concerning Thy servants. 

People — O satisfy us early with Thy mercy, that we may rejoice and be glad all our 

Pastor — Make us glad according to the days wherein Thou hast afflicted us, and the 
years wherein we have seen evil. 

People — Let Thy work appear unto Thy servants, and Thy glory unto their children. 

Pastor — And let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us; and establish the work of 
our hands upon us; yea, the work of our hands establish Thou it. 

Pastor and People -Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be ac- 
ceptable in Thy sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer. 

Hymn— Tune "Old Hundred" 

All the people that on earth do dwell, Oh, enter then His gates with praise, 
Sing to the Lord with cheerful voice. Approach with joy His courts unto; 

Him serve with mirth, His praise forth Praise, laud, and bless His name always, 
tell, For it is seemly so to do. 

Come ye before Him and rejoice 

Know that the Lord is God indeed; Because the Lord our God is good, 
Without our aid He did us make; His mercy is forever sure; 

We are His flock, He doth us feed, His truth at all times firmly stood, 

And for His sheep He doth us take And shall from age to age endure 

Scripture Reading— i Kings, 8: 12-30; 9: 1-3; Rev. Robert White 

Anthem Te Deum 

Prayer- Rev. A. W. Sproull, D.D. 

Anthem—" I Have Surely Built Thee an House " 

Announcements and Offerings 

Hymn — Tune Xast Hope 

Lord of hosts, to Thee we raise Here to Thee a temple stand 

Here a house of prayer and praise; While the sea shall gird the land; 

Thou Thy people's hearts prepare Here reveal Thy mercy sure 

Here to meet for praise and prayer. While the sun and moon endure. 

Hallelujah ! earth and sky 

To the joyful sound reply; 

Hallelujah ! hence ascend 

Prayer and praise till time shall end. 

Sermon of Dedication 

Rev. Henry Collin Minton, D. D., LL. D., 

Pastor First Presbyterian Church, Trenton, N J 

Hymn — Tune "Cooling" 

Dear Shepherd of thy people here! The feeling heart, the melting eye, 
Thy presence now display; The humble mind bestow; 

As Thou hast given a place for prayer And shine upon us Irom on high, 
So give us hearts to pray To make our graces grow 

Within these walls let holy peace May we in faith receive the word 
And love and concord dwell; In faith present our prayers; 

Here give the troubled conscience ease, And in the presence of our Lord 
The wounded spirit heal Unbosom all our cares. 

Report of Building Fund— Prof. S. E. Shull, 


Presentation of Keys — Mr. John H. Gregory, 

Chairman Building Committee 

Presentation of Gifts - Mr. John J. Deitche 

Presentation of Memorials — Mr. C. Douglas Fraser 

Acceptance of Keys, Gifts and Memorials — Mr. Chas. D. Snedeker, 

President of Board of Trustees 

The Dedication 

Pastor Thus saith the Lord, The heaven is my throne and the earth is my footstool: 

where is the house that ye build unto me ? 
People Who am I then, that I should build him an house, save only to burn sacrifice 

before him ? 
Pastor Except the Lord build the house they labor in vain that build it 
People • We are laborers together with God 
Pastor But who am I, and what is my people, that we should be able to offer so willing 

ly after this sort? 
People For all things come of Thee, and of Thine own have we given Thee 
PASTOR — This is the word of the Lord unto Zerrubbabel, saying, Not by might, nor by 

power, but by my Spirit. 
People— The hands of Zerubbabel have laid the foundation of this house; his hands shall 

also finish it. 
Pastor The glory of this latter house shall be greater than of the former, saith the Lord 

of Hosts 
People — And in this place will I givt peace, saith the Lord of Hosts. 
Pastor— Hear Thou in heaven Thy dwelling-place and forgive and do, and render unto 

every man according to all his ways, whose heart Thou knowest 

People — Moreover, concerning the stranger, that is not of Thy people Israel, when he 
shall come and pray towards this house, hear Thou in heaven Thy dwelling-place, 
and do according to all that the stranger calleth to Thee for 

Pastor - Arise, O Lord, into Thy rest; thou and the ark of Thy strength. 

People Let Thy priests be clothed with righteousness; and let Thy saints shout for joy. 

Pastor Let Thy work appear unto Thy servants, and Thy glory unto their children 

People And establish Thou the work of our hands upon us; yea, the work of our hands 
establish Thou it. 

Pastor — That all the peoples of the earth may know Thy name, to fear Thee, and that 
they may know that this house which we have built is called by Thy Name 

Pastor and People — To God, the Father, to Jesus Christ, His Son, Our Saviour, and to 
the Holy Spirit, the Comforter, 


Pastor — For the worship of God, the confession of sin, and prayer for pardoning grace; 
for the proclamation of the Glad Tidings of Salvation in Christ Jesus, for instruction 
in the Holy Scriptures, for the administration of the ordinances of Baptism and 
of the Lord's Supper, and for the ingathering of souls into the communion of God's 


Pastor — For the guiding of the young into the ways of holiness, for the strengthening of 
the weak, for the comforting of the mourners, for the uplifting of those who are 
bowed down, for the Christian observance of the Lord's Day. tor the development of 
the missionary spirit, for the giving of our substance as God prospers us. for the in 
culcation of the principles of patriotism, and of truth, and of righteousness, 


Pastor — For our use and the use of generations to come in all ways that shall contribute 
to the glory of God and the salvation of man, 

Pastor and People— WE DEDICATE THE CHURCH. 

Declaration — By Pastor and People 

Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty, to Thee, the only living and true 
God, we now solemnly dedicate this building erected under Thy gracious 
guidance. We dedicate it to Thee for Thy most holy worship, for the serv- 
ices of Thy blessed Son, and for the proclamation of His glorious gospel of 
the Kingdom of Truth We dedicate it to Thee that by Thee it may be 
owned and honored in fulfilling Thy people's prayer that Thy kingdom come, 
and Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven For Thine is the kingdom, 
and the power, and the glory forever Amen. 

Prayer of Dedication Rev. Robert F. Sample, D. D, 
Hymn — Tune "Hebron" 

O God the father, Christ the Son, May Jesus here that power display 

And Holy Spirit, Three in One, Which changes darkness into day, 

Accept this gift our hearts have sought, Ami open wide those yates of love 

Our hands in Christian love have That lead to blessedness above, 

Here may the light of gospel truth O Jesus Christ, our sovereign Lord, 

Illumine age enlighten youth; By angels and by saints adored, 

In many hearts that grace begin, Accept this tribute of our praise 

Which saves from sorrow and trom sin. And with Thy glory rill this place. 


afternoon Service 


Mr. Edward W. Barnes, 

Superintendent of the Sunday School, presiding 
Singing - "Onward, Christian Soldiers" 
Scripture Reading — John J. Deitche 
Singing — "Come, Thou Almighty King" 
Prayer — Adrian Lyon 
Singing — "Trust and Obey" 

Singing — "Encamped Along the Hills" 

Address — "The Power of Small Things" General O. O. Howard 
Singing — "All Hail the Power of Jesus' Name" 

£r* t2?* *&* 

Evening Service 

AT 7 30 O'CLOCK. 


Anthem — "Praise the Lord, O My Soul." 

The united choirs of the Baptist, Methodist and Presby- 
terian Churches 

Scripture Reading 

Hymn 129— "I Love Thy Kingdom, Lord" 

Prayer — Rev. Edward B. French 

Solo— "Open the Gates of the Temple," Mr. F. R. Conklin 


Hymn 130 — "The Church's One Foundation" 

Greetings From Our Sister Churches — 

Simpson M. E. Church, Rev. S. Trevena Jackson, Ph. D. 
Baptist Church, Rev. Percy R. Ferris 

Solo — "Hear My Prayer," Mrs. R. W. Macan 

Greetings from Our Sister Churches — 

Danish M. E. Church, Rev. Andrew Hansen 

Swedish Congregational Church, Rev. Theodore Englund 

Hymn 131 — "Glorious Things of Thee Are Spoken" 

Greetings from tbe presbpten? of Elisabeth. 


AT 7.45 P. M. 


Hymn 144 — "How Beauteous are the Feet" 

Scripture Reading and Prayer — Rev. I. A. Blauvelt, D.D., Roselle 

Anthem — Church Choir 


Addresses — 

Rev. John T. Reeve, Basking Ridge, Moderator of Presbytery 
Rev. Joseph M. McNulty, D. D., Woodbridge 
Rev. James G. Mason, D.D., Metuchen 

Hymn 170 — "O Still in Accents Sweet and Strong" 

Addresses — 

Rev, Eben B. Cobb, D.D., Elizabeth 
Rev. George H. Payson, D.D., Rahway 
Rev. George F. Greene, D.D., Cranford 

Hymn 145 — "Soldiers of Christ Arise" 

e^* «^* t&* 



AT 3.30 P. M. 

Somen's /iDeetino. 

Devotional Services — Conducted by Mrs. J. H. Owens 

Duet — Mrs. Wilbur LaRoe and Mrs. James Chalmers 

Address — "Home Missions," Miss Julia Fraser 

Address — "Foreign Missions," Mrs. Wellington White 

Vocal Solo — "O Love Divine," Holden 

Mrs. WiLBUk LaRoe 


Evening Service 

AT 7.45 O'CLOCK. 


Anthem — "The Lord is My Shepherd" . . . Schubert 

Carol Club 
Scripture Reading 

Hymn 191 — "Jesus Shall Reign Where'er the Sun" 

Prayer — Rev. George Buckle, Elizabeth 

Anthem -"Hark, Hark My Soul," Smart 

Carol Club 

Offerings for Missions 

Hymn 366 — "God Bless Our Native Land" 

Address — "Mormonism," Rev. S. E. Wishard, D. D., Utah 

Anthem — "Evening Peace," .... 

Carol Club 

Address — "Foreign Missions," Mr. David McConaughy, 

New York City 

Hymn 185 — "From Greenland's Icy Mountains" 

*£T* 1&* *£?* 

©ur ipouna people. 


AT 7.30 P. M. 

Wilbur LaRoe, 

President Christian Endeavor Society, presiding 

A Song Service for 15 Minutes 

Hymn -"Countless Mercies," Choir 

Scripture Reading 

Hymn 9 — "Open Wide the Door" 

Prayer— Rev. R. J. Dick, South Amboy 

Vocal Solo — "I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say," . . Rathbun 

Mrs Wilbur LaRoe 

Hymn 75— "When the King Shall Come" 

Address— Rev. Wayland Hoyt, D.D., Philadelphia. 

Hymn 112 — "Loyalty to Christ" 

Evangelism ai^ tbe press. 


AT 7.4-5 P. M. 


Hymn I7J — "Work for the Night is Coming" 

Scripture Reading and Prayer — Rev. S. H. Thompson, D.D., Red Bank 

Anthem — "It is a Good Thing to Give Thanks" 

Address — "The Religious Press," Rev. John Bancroft Devins, D.D., 
New York City 

Hymn 368— "My Country 'Tis of Thee" 

Address — "Evangelical Work," Rev. John F. Carson, D.D., Brooklyn 

Hymn 247 - "Am I a Soldier of the Cross" 

^3* «<?* t2r* 



AT 3.30 P M. 


Hymn 264— "The Lord's My Shepherd" 

Reading 90th Psalm in Concert 

Prayer — Elder Caleb C. Pierson, 

A member of this church for fifty three years and an elder for forty -seven years 

Address of Welcome — Elder Edward W. Barnes 

Hymn 271 — "How Firm a Foundation" 

Addresses from Former Elders and Trustees 

Hymn 279— "God is the Refuge of His Saints" 

Evening Service 

AT 7.45 O'CLOCK. 

Organ — George O. Martine, Nyack 
Hymn 195— "Blest Be the Tie that Binds" 
Scripture Reading — Rev. J. H. Owens 
Prayer — Rev. James A. Little, D. D. 
Singing — "The Recessional," Male Quartette 

Rev. W. W. Conner, Belleville 

Great grandson- in-law of Peter Stryker, pastor 1809 
Rev. James A. Little, D. D., Hokendauqua, Pa. 

Pastor 1864— 1868 
Rev. James H. Owens, Paterson 
Pastor 1886 1894 

Anthem — "Trust in the Lord," Male Quartette 


Rev. George B. Van Dyke, Lowville, N. Y. 

Pastor 1894 — 1898 
Rev. W. A. Rice, D. D., New York City 
Rev. Henry Ketcham, Westfield 

Singing — "Auld Lang Syne," Male Quartette 

Response to Greetings — Elder Adrian Lyon. 

Hymn 370— "God Be with You till We Meet Again" 

Our other guests will be . . 
Mrs. Alfred Whitman 

granddaughter of Rev J. B. Andrews, M D , pastor 1816 — 1822 
Mrs. I. C. Kiggins, Elizabeth 

daughter of Rev. Benjamin Cory, pastor 1835 — 1860 
Mrs. Julia Peck and Miss Peck 

widow and daughter of Rev Aaron Peck, pastor 1869 — 1877 
Mrs. Adele M. Stevenson 

widow Rev David Stevenson, D D., pastor 1880 — 1884 

Letters of Greeting from 

Rev. J. A. Riggs, D. D., East Orange 

grandson of Rev. Elias Riggs, the first minister. 

Mrs. Mary B. Wallace 

widow of Rev. C C Wallace, U D., pastor i860 — 1863 
Rev. Norman W. Cary 
Rev. S. C. Hay, Woodstock, 111. 
Rev. Stephen G. Barnes, D. D. 
Miss Emma Morris